Love Them Anyway

I was struggling with some unkind words that were spoken about our family.  Whether it’s intentional or unintentional, sometimes people will say hurtful things.  While I was thinking about this the words, “love them anyway” came to my mind.  I remember there was a poem that mentioned something about that, so I did a search and found it, and I thought about Jesus.  If anybody was ever wronged, it was Him, yet He showed love in the midst of being falsely accused, spit upon, mocked and crucified.  Oh to be like Him!!

ANYWAY

People are unreasonable, illogical and self-centered.
Love them anyway!
If you do good, people will accuse you
of selfish, ulterior motives.
Do good anyway!
If you are successful, you will win
false friends and enemies.
Succeed anyway!
The good you do will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway!
Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway!
What you spend years building may be
destroyed overnight.
Build anyway!
People really need help
but may attack you if you help them.
Help them anyway!
Give the world the best you have
and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway!

Written by: Mother Teresa
15 thoughts on “Love Them Anyway

  1. That was not written by Mother Theresa, it was by a man named Kent M. Keith.

    http://www.paradoxicalcommandments.com/

    It’s a great set of commandments regardless.

    Oops! The website where I found it gave Mother Theresa as the author. Thanks for the correction, and yes, it is a great set of commandments.

  2. Carol – I think you and I have been walking in the same shoes! I read Karen Hoppers post and I responded with, “How did you know” My husband and I were viciously attacked this weekend. Thanks for this post. I am doing my best to love them anyway.

  3. Oh, thanks for this post Carol. You’re often so timely with messages that seem like they’re just right for me (go along with something I’ve been dealing with, etc.).

    When you get a chance, please take a look at my post and comments from Mon., March 3rd (post about others questioning homeschooling–why would anyone want to do that, what makes parents qualified, etc.). There have been about three different instances in the last few weeks. (I dealt with this about 2 yrs. ago from family, friends, and church members when I first started; but then there hadn’t been so much of it until lately).

    There have been other issues of hurt I’ve been dealing with too, but just as you have stated in this post, the Lord has also been softly reminding me “to love them anyway.” Thanks so much for the reiteration of this very important message!

  4. It just continues to prove that you can’t live your life worrying about what other people will think. Our accountability is first and foremost with God, and if we are doing the things that He wants us to do, then “people” will just have to understand (or not)!

    Still, it hurts, when we feel attacked or judged with wordly standards. I think this is especially so for women, and even more so when the attack is directed toward our families.

    Loved the poem – thanks for sharing 🙂

    julie

  5. Carol:

    I knew it was a MAN who wrote that poem. (just kidding) I DO remember this, though, and like it. I can’t believe anyone would say anything about the exemplary Connell family, but as was said, look what was said about Christ. Mom asked me to print this poem.

    We are certainly not perfect by any means.

  6. When I was younger and being attacked by some folks I whined to my dad about it. He said, “Who are you trying to be most like?” And I said, “Jesus”. To which he replied, “Well, honey, they crucified him and His only words were, ‘Father forgive them…’ “. That is not the answer I wanted to hear but it did help me through a very tough time.
    Blessings to you!

    Thanks for sharing that, Ronda. Your father is a wise man.

  7. This a healthy post…learning to walk in forgiveness is difficult but necessary nonetheless. Thanks for being transparent and allowing us all to grow together. Others have added some very wise comments that have been tucked away as well. :o) Have a great weekend!

  8. I can’t imagine why anyone would say unkind words about my sweet sissy and her wonderful family. I remember Mom telling us that sticks and stones may break our bones but names would never hurt us. But that is not really true. How easily we can be damaged by unkind words, whether spoken to our face our heard second hand from others about us. I’m sure the devil would like nothing more than for a root of bitterness to spring up in us from the hurt of unkind words. But greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world. Thank God we have His spirit that can help us overcome hurts and love those that caused us pain.

    Great post Sissy! I love you!

    Love you too, sis!

  9. What I find most of the time when someone attacks another person or a family is the person has been so deeply hurt by others that they will respond in this way.

    Yes, that probably is true in a lot of cases. Good observation.

  10. As we grow in Christ, we will look less at what a person may have said or done to us and more at the spiritual wrestlings playing out. Those of an eternal soul, created in the image of God, for whom Christ died. A soul that the enemy would love to hang on to and eventually destroy. When we have this understanding in our hearts, it becomes hard to let a persons contrary behavior get to us. It’s not easy, and in our own strength we can never attain to this, but through Christ, we are more than conquerors over the tendancies of the fallen nature. Great reflective poem.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  11. I too, have to continually learn to lean on Him, and not let my anger and hurt feelings get the best of me when these moments take place in my life.

    My mother use to tell me “It’ll all come out in the wash so don’t worry you’re pretty little head about it none.” I would always think to myself , “Oh, but how it hurts while that washer is agitating and spinning!” But she was right. The truth always prevails in time. The pain subsides and life goes on. The one who spreads the gossip and lies moves on to someone else and is soon known for what they are, talebeares. You, well, you’re still standing and going on strong for God. That says it all.

Leave a Reply

