Beyond Hardy Boys or Books I Recommend For Little Men

     

This past Christmas, my son received a special gift in the mail from his aunt, uncle(my youngest brother)and cousins in Wisconsin.  Upon opening his package, he discovered the first 3 books of what is known as the Kingdom Series.  The author of this series is Chuck Black, and I can say that I have enjoyed these books as much as my son has.  These books are actually an allegory of the Bible and take place in a medeival setting, chock full of knights, villians and sword fights.  In the back of each book are discussion questions that you can use to help your child think and understand how certain characters and events in the book represent people and happenings in the Bible. 

My son was a very reluctant reader until the beginning of last year when he really gained an interest in the Hardy Boys.  I was and am glad for that, but I really wanted to find something else with a little more depth that would interest him.  These books were the ticket!  If you have a book resistant kid in your household, you might want to try these out.  They are also available as audio dramatized books too. 

Click here to learn more about the books.

6 thoughts on “Beyond Hardy Boys or Books I Recommend For Little Men

  1. Aha. So it was John and clan who sent those books. I know you had wondered who had sent them. They sound good. Will have to take a look at them. And now, onto the natural man—Medieval Times (an eating establishment). I’m sure that could be of interest to the whole family. Ever been there? I have not yet. HAW!

    No, I’ve never been to Medieval Times, but I would like to go there sometime.

  2. Sounds very interesting. Do you think Aunt Kiki would like to read them to Brady?? Well, maybe 10 years from now perhaps. I’ll have to take a look at those sometime.

    I think you would like reading them, Keek. I certainly am enjoying them.

  3. Do you know what ages these books are geared towards? Thanks.

    Hi Tena. I would say ages 8-17, although it might be difficult for some 8 year olds to read on their own. However, if they had it read to them, they would still enjoy it and get something out of it. I’m enjoying the books, and I’m an adult. I believe there are excerpts from the books on the website that you can look at if you want to get a better idea too. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

