Eternal Hope

Eternal Hope 

In Heaven God devised a plan

before the world ever began,

to bridge the gap that sin did span

and come as man, and come as man.

    

The world lay in spiritual dearth

since Adam sinned his sin on earth,

but God came through a virgin birth

to show our worth, to show our worth.

    

And so to earth my Jesus came.

He healed the blind. He healed the lame.

Salvation’s way He did proclaim

O praise His name! O praise His name!

    

Though many could not clearly see

why God took on humanity;

He gave His life upon that tree

for you and me, for you and me.

    

But that’s not where the story ends.

The risen Christ, His Spirit sends;

empowers us to be His friends.

Our hearts He mends. Our hearts He mends.

   

Since I’ve been baptized in His name

and felt Him take away my shame,

now boldly I can make this claim.

I’m not the same! I’m not the same!

    

His witness He calls me to be.

My goal, to serve Him joyfully

In aiding fallen men to see

they can be free! They can be free!

    

When comes the day my life is o’er

and time for me will be no more,

I’ll see the One that I adore

On Heaven’s shore, on Heaven’s shore.

    

So happy in that land of rest

Partaking of God’s very best

No more trial and no more test

Forever blessed! Forever blessed!

    1-21-08   

This type of poem is called a monotetra.

13 thoughts on “Eternal Hope

  1. Forever blessed, Amen! Wonderful, Carol.

    Scotti

    Thanks, Scotti. This one was a bit of a challenge to write, but I do enjoy working with rhymes.

  2. Thank you all for your kind compliments. I don’t write just to try and receive compliments. I just want God to work through me to be a blessing and encouragement to others.

  3. Well, you have a great talent there Sis Connell, and that is a powerful poem. All of your poems have a message to them and they are a blessing. Keep using the talent God has given you because you are encouraging others through the words of your poems.

    love you
    jolene

    Thank you, Jolene. I love you too.

  4. Hi Carol, I don’t just give you compliments to make you feel good (although I hope you do). When I say, “You nailed it,” I mean “You nailed it.” Some poems are just better than others. Here your subject and the type (form) of the poem walk hand in hand. Love, Helen

    Thanks, Helen. That means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

