Mock Apple Pie, Idioms and HBS!

Last night, I was feeling lousy.  I’ve been battling a cold along with the rest of my family, and it had started going into my chest.  I ate dinner with just the kids, while my husband was out running some errands.  Later, after he came home and was eating dinner, I had this craving for hot apple pie, and I told him about it.  He told me he was going to head out after dinner, and I said, “Oh no.  Please don’t go out and buy an apple pie.  I really don’t want it or need it that bad.”  I was sitting on the couch while he ate dinner, and I dozed off.  When I woke up a short while later, I thought at first I was dreaming, because I smelled apples and cinnamon.  It turns out my husband made his own version of apple cobbler just using ingredients we had in the house.  It really tasted good!   I thank God for my sweet husband. Then he announced that we wouldn’t be doing our family Bible study that night.  He wanted to give me a break, because he knew I wasn’t feeling well.  A little later, however, we wanted to do something as a family, so we decided to play a new game my brother Bob bought us for Christmas.  It’s called Befudiom.  We had a fun time playing this game.  Basically, what you do is try to get your teammate(s) to guess an idiom by either acting it out, drawing it, using different words to describe it or have them try to guess it in somewhat of a Hangman style.  A 60 second timer is included to keep things hopping.  If you like word games like I do, I would certainly recommend this one if you have at least 4 people around. 

Tonight, I am excited, because my husband and I were able to start a new home Bible study(HBS).  We’ve been doing a Bible study(Search For Truth)with a lady named Linda from our church.  Linda was telling her daughter and her daughter’s mother-in-law about it a few weeks ago, and they decided they wanted to come too.  Psalm 119:30 says,

“The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.”

It’s always thrilling to me to have those moments in a Bible study where the lights come on and the person you are teaching sees something in God’s Word that they never saw or knew before.  I’m believing God we’ll have many such moments in this Bible study. I’m thankful also that I am feeling better tonight too.  Thank God for His goodness.

10 thoughts on “Mock Apple Pie, Idioms and HBS!

  1. I hope that you are feeling better and gotten over your cold. Colds can be miserable I have one right now I have gotten rid of the cough but I cannot get rid of the congestion. I also hope that enjoyed that pie.

  2. Awww…..how sweet. Sounds like your husband enjoys spoiling you as much as mine spoils me. 🙂 Hope you are feeling better.

    Yes, my husband is very good to me. I couldn’t ask for a better man.

  3. Mom says: Thank God for wonderful son-in-laws! Hope you’re feeling better. We’d been battling some colds here too. Hopefully the worst is over. That mock apple pie sounds good. We’ll be praying for that Bible study.

    Hi Mom. I would really appreciate your prayer for the Bible study. I believe it’s going to be very fruitful.

  4. That was very sweet of your husband–what a blessing!

    Yes, thank the Lord for His goodness–glad you’re feeling better, and the new Bible study sounds great!

    Hi Janet. Thanks for stopping by. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you!

  5. Carol, Hope you are feeling better. Glad you were treated so good by hubby too.
    The Bible Study sounds very exciting. Keep up the good work.
    Blessings

    Thanks, Ronda. I am feeling better and glad not to feel achey anymore. We are excited about the Bible study and believing God for great things!

  6. Carol, How sweet of your hubby. Glad to hear you are feeling better. Looking forward to this weekend. I will be there Friday night.

    God Bless and I am praying that you continue to get better.

    Thanks, Jolene. I’m looking forward to meeting you tonight.

  7. Sissy My Dear<

    So sorry you’ve been under the weather. Bub and I are trying to get rid of colds too. How sweet of the spouse to fix that mock for you. He’s a keeper. Bro. Louie has a great recipe for mock apple pie. He has made it several times for our care group, and we all like it. Tastes like real apple pie even though it doesn’t have apples in it.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. Love ya,
    Keek

  8. Sis. Connell

    Hope you feel better soon. Thank you for stopping by and visiting our blog. We put you on our blog list, hope that is ok. Tell everyone we say hi…can’t wait to try the mock apple pies!

    The Prados

Leave a Reply

