The Blessing Of Brokenness

img_0510.jpg      img_0509.jpg

A few weeks ago when I was with the ladies of our church making wreaths for our Christmas banquet, my kids were at home and called me on my cell phone to ask where they could find white tissue paper to put in some clothing boxes for Christmas gifts.  I instructed them to look in some bags in my closet where I keep such things.  Upon coming home later, I learned that my son had taken a fall while trying to reach to where the bags were.  This caused a bar to come loose in the closet which fell also.  One of the things Paul landed on was an enclosed glass frame that housed a cross stitch poem.  It was a wedding gift that a friend had given us.  When we moved to our house here 4 years ago, I really did not have anywhere to display this gift, so I ended up just shoving it away in the closet.  The frame broke, and Paul cut his hand, though not very badly.(Thank you, Jesus!)  My husband threw out the frame but saved the canvas with the cross stitch on it.  He laid it over a towel bar in our bathroom, and I really didn’t notice that a few days later it disappeared.  Upon Christmas morning, I was delighted and surprised as I opened a gift from my husband to find that it was that cross stitch poem put into a beautiful new frame!  This frame is so much nicer than the old once, which I actually didn’t care for that much.

 I began to think what a blessing it was that the old frame had been broken.  Now I had something much nicer, and it got me to thinking about times of brokenness that we may experience in our lives.  There is always pain involved in brokenness.  I remember clearly the night I first repented and how broken I felt as a teenager, realizing for the first time that I was a sinner in the eyes of God.  Psalm 51:17 puts it this way..

    (AMP)  My sacrifice [the sacrifice acceptable] to God is a broken spirit; a broken and a contrite heart [broken down with sorrow for sin and humbly and thoroughly penitent], such, O God, You will not despise.   

  What a blessing it is that God does not look on us despitefully when we come to Him in true brokenness of spirit!  I’m thankful that God can use our brokenness to make us into something better than we were before.  

  Psalm 34:18 (AMP)  The Lord is close to those who are of a broken heart and saves such as are crushed with sorrow for sin and are humbly and thoroughly penitent.    

    

Something beautiful
Something good
All my confusion, He understood
All I had to offer Him was brokeness and strife
But He made something beautiful of my life.
 
Bill and Gloria Gaither

  

9 thoughts on “The Blessing Of Brokenness

  1. A broken and contrite heart gives God something to work with. Thanks for this post! A gentle reminder… we get so busy with daily life…we forget our focus.

  2. thank you, carol, for this beautiful post. this has been a rough week for our family, and this post is such a salve.

    your husband is so special, to know how much you would appreciate your special gift reframed. life is so full of blessings, why is it so easy to overlook them?

    I hope you and yours have a great new year, carol. I plan on doing the same, as long as God is on my side, how can I fail?

    Hi Holly. I think it can be easy to overlook life’s blessings, first of all, because of our fallen human nature. I also believe that the devil makes it his business to get us to focus on the things that would cause doubt, discouragment and depression. If we can focus more on the Word of God through reading it, hearing it preached and meditating on it, it will be harder for us to fall prey to satan’s “stinkin’ thinkin.” And yes, you are right. If God is on our side, how can we fail!

  3. Carol, What a beautiful post . It reminded me of a quote I had run across. It goes like this: “I didn’t know I’d have to be torn down before I could be built up.” Like your husband reframed your gift making it more beautiful, that is what God has done for us. He has reframed our lives making them more beautiful and sturdy. And then when the frame work tends to get a little wood rot by our own mishaps, He again steps in to do some much needed reframing. What an awesome God we serve.

    Amen, Jolene!

  4. Awesome post, Carol!

    Loved the chorus at the end–brought back memories…I used to sing “Something Beautiful” a lot as a teenager. I think I now have a better understanding about that kind of brokenness, although, I still need reminders!

  5. I just stumbled upon your blog and very much enjoyed reading this post.
    A happy new year to you!

    A happy new year to you too! Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  6. Carol, This is a beautiful post. I read it several days ago and meant to comment earlier. Hope you are having a good start to a really great year. Thanks for all the thoughtful comments you leave on my blog. Love, Helen

    Thank you, Helen. I hope you have a wonderful new year too!

  7. Good post, ‘lynnie. Hope Paul’s hand is doing better. Good message on brokenness. Neat that Pete got you that new frame. Good song by Bill & Glor. “Enjoyed your post.” Love, mom. By the way, mom wants to know if you got that personalized ‘lynnie” clock & Jen’s gift. We won’t ask how the dawg liked her ring.

    Yes, we received the clock and the gift. I did send you an e-mail about it, but maybe you didn’t get it. That cute clock is hanging up already, and I’ll send you a picture of it once I get the pics downloaded from my camera. You and mom were so kind to send us all the goods. Misty especially loved her new toy. 🙂

  8. Beautiful post, Sis. How nice of Spiss to do that for you. Yes, there is a blessing in brokeness, although when you’re broken at the time, you may not feel that way. That song, “Something Beautiful” is one of my favorite old choruses. That’s excatly how I felt when I came to God, but He made something beautiful of my life.

    Love ya,
    Keek

Leave a Reply

