I’ll Be Home For Christmas

I’ll be home for Christmas.  What do you think of when you think of this song?  Do you think of death?  I never had before, until today.  I went to a funeral for a wonderful Christian lady that I really didn’t know.  Her son and wife are minister friends of ours, and we wanted to go to be a support to them.  As we entered the church, which was very tastefully decorated for the holidays, I noticed that I’ll Be Home For Christmas was playing.  “Wow, that’s kind of neat,”  I thought to myself.  After all, if Christmas is all about Christ, and if as the Scripture says for the Christian, to be “absent in body is to be present with the Lord, then yes, it can be said that Sister Hazel Hall will be with the Lord for Christmas. 

Although I did not know Hazel Hall, I felt like I learned a lot about her today.  I heard different ones testify of a woman who was devoted to her family, faithful to her husband and to the ministries God called them to do, a wonderful singer and worshipper, a lover of young people and a builder of churches through making and selling mountains of peanut brittle, just to mention a few things.  I listened to her youngest son, Pastor Rodney Hall preach a message entitled, If You Want to Go Where Mama Is, You Need to Walk Where She Has Walked.  I think it was the best funeral message I have ever heard. 

I left feeling challenged, encouraged and inspired.  I want to live a life that is well spent for the Lord. I know that when it is all said and done, only what is done for Christ will last.  One day, in God’s time, I want to be home for Christmas……….home forever.

hazel-hall-homecoming.jpg

6 thoughts on “I’ll Be Home For Christmas

  1. What an interesting post. I never would have thought of the song in connection with death, but it does make perfect sense. Thanks for sharing this. We should allow more things to energize us than we do. We need to be inspired to action.

  2. Hi Carol,

    Wow, I really appreciate this post. What a wonderful tribute–to play that song at the funeral! I agree, that “is kind of neat!”

    In Him,
    Janet

  3. Great post. I never thought about that song in that context. It sounds like a perfect tribute.

    Thanks, April. Yes, the song was very fitting. Hope you’re doing well.

  4. Great post, Sis. Carol! I really enjoyed it. Made me think…what will they say about me at my funeral. I hope it’s all about Kingdom deeds and not earthly. Oh, God, help me to do more for the kingdom than for this earth. I think about this a lot, Sis. Carol, “Only what’s done for Christ will last.” I sang that song with Bro. & Sis. Hurst a while ago. It’s a powerful song and I meant every word from the bottom of my heart.
    Have a great day with Jesus! Love you!

    Hi Tena. My husband and I sang that song that you sang with the Hursts when we got married. It really is true. Only what’s done for Jesus is what will last. This funeral made me think too. Most of all, I want to hear Jesus say, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”
    Love you too!

  5. thanks for sharing this post…… i think having faith in God lessen the pain of grieving.For you can assure that your loved one that lost will go in the better place (on God’s kingdom).
    Godbless

    Hi Rhosie,
    Having faith in God definitely helps to lessen the pain of grieving, because you know that God is there helping you to bear it. Thanks for coming by my blog.

Leave a Reply

