Himself He Gave

Himself He Gave

 

 

For our sins, himself he gave

That delivered, we might be

Hung on that cross, our souls to save

Praise God for Calvary!

 

 

 

 

That delivered, we might be

And Heaven, we might gain

Praise God for Calvary

And the Lamb, who there was slain.

 

 

 

 

And Heaven, we might gain

Through him nailed to that tree

And the Lamb, who there was slain

By his death has set us free.

 

 

 

 

Through him nailed to that tree

Hung on that cross, our souls to save

By his death has set us free

For our sins, himself he gave!

 

 

 

 

  Written 11-1-07

  Galatians 1:4  Who gave himself for our sins, that he might deliver us from this present evil world, according to the will of God and our Father:    Galatians 3:13  Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree: 

9 thoughts on “Himself He Gave

  1. I just got through posting about a hymn that kept coming to my mind last night when I was reflecting on thankfulness. The name of that hymn is “When I Survey The Wondrous Cross.”

    After posting, I came straight to your blog and found your poem “Himself He Gave!”

    I love the focus of your poem!

    The sacrifice of Jesus is definitely worthy of our focus. If only we could keep that continually as our focus, our committment to Him would be much stronger and less wavering.

  2. Carol, What a beautiful poem. To think that one such as He gave His all for one such as me. Powerful! There is no greater love than this. Makes me want to draw even closer to Him.

    Yes, Jolene, His love is so amazing. It makes me want to draw closer too.

  3. Mom says: I am nothing; I can do nothing; I have nothing WITHOUT HIM! It keeps us humble when we think of all that Jesus did for us and that we’re really dependent upon Him.

    Tom says: Good poem. I knew you wrote it. What kind of poem is that again? Good message.

    Amen, Mom. Thanks Tom. It is called a pantoum.

  4. Beautiful poem Sis, and I really like that rhyme scheme/style. It looks like each new stanza started with the 2nd line from the prior stanza. Did I say that right? I’ve never heard of a pantoum before, but it was pretty cool. Thanks for sharing.

    Love,
    Kiki Ann

    Hey Keek. Yes, you’ve got the pattern right. I like this type of poem, because it reinforces the point you are trying to make through repetition.

  5. Very nice poem. I don’t know anything about writing (styles and such), only if I like it or not. I like this. When I was young(er) I loved to write (in french). I’m trying to get back to it, and take a change in english. So you are Carol?
    A la prochaine et que Dieu vous bénisse,
    Catherine

    Until next time and God bless you? Is this the English translation of the French? I really need to review French while I learn Spanish too.

Leave a Reply

