Flopping

Wednesday was one of those days where I found myself battling a crummy attitude.  I got mad a couple of times at my husband over trivial, stupid things and was a little short tempered with the kids.  I felt ashamed for the way I acted and realized I had two choices.  I could either let the devil slap me around and tell me what a fine example of a Christian I had been or I could ask forgiveness of God and those I had offended.  I’m thankful to have chosen the latter.  Thinking about it all later, I wrote this little poem.  What a gift we have in the ability to repent!

Oh,

those days

when I flop

my attitude

not what it should be

and I feel the sharp sting

of knowing I have done wrong

satan tries hard to keep me down

but then, I know that my best option

is to come to God in true repentance.

 

 

Written 10-31-07

    I John 1:9(AMP)  If we [freely] admit that we have sinned and confess our sins, He is faithful and just (true to His own nature and promises) and will forgive our sins [dismiss our lawlessness] and [continuously] cleanse us from all unrighteousness [everything not in conformity to His will in purpose, thought, and action].

9 thoughts on “Flopping

  1. Today was a flop day for me too, at work. Nothing seemed to be going right. Then one of my co-workers brought me in a pineapple bun. I ate that and felt all happy and fluffy inside. But not all my flops are that easy to overcome. Thank God we can go to God in prayer and ask him to forgive and help us when we need our tudes’ adjusted!

    Amen to that, Keek!

  2. I really liked the poem. But it is so true when we flop the devil does try to keep us down. But thank God that we have a savior that can turn things around.

    Yes, I’m thankful Jesus can pick us up when we stumble and help us to go on in Him.

  3. Oh, how I can relate! I also have really been trying to fight a “crummy attitude” today, and I’ve felt like I’ve been losing! However, I’m reminding myself that the conviction of the Holy Spirit is totally different from the guilt trip of the devil. If I let myself indulge in the guilt trip (or trap, rather) of the devil, the horrible attitude only gets worse. I “get stuck” in what a terrible person I am, and yet where does the change occur?

    However, what a difference there is when I submit to the conviction of the precious Holy Spirit. I admit my sin, ask for His forgiveness, and let Him restore me. He lets me know that He forgives me and still loves me. Then, He picks me up, and He challenges me to go on in His strength and to change and do better with His help!

    Isn’t our Lord AWESOME?!

  4. Hello,

    I too had a bout with “crummy”. But I won!

    This Scripture is the very first one I memorized. It was on a plastic prayer glove, given to me by a sister from Canada a week after I received the Holy Ghost.
    Thank God for repentance.

    Hi Catherine. Thanks for leaving your comment and for visiting my blog. Hope you have a great weekend.

  5. I guess sometimes we have to get an attitude about our attitude before we can change. Don’t we know it?! Thank God it’s November, Thanksgiving is nearing, and we can be reminded again of an attitude of gratitude. Now let me run along and count again my many blessings—like being forgiven and things like that. I might be a while. HA!

  6. It must have been a full moon! Too many had a flop day. LOL So glad God and our families forgive our flop days. I love the way you used this word – flop. I will never think of flop in the same way again. 🙂

  7. Those crazy flops! Sometimes they seem to come from out of nowhere. A little losing focus, a little goofing off and, suddenly “WHAMO!” It’s somewhat comforting to know that I’m not the only one who experiences this from time to time. It’s far more comforting to know that if we confess our sins Jesus is willing to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. May we all strive to love more and flop less.

    Have a great evening in Jesus.

    timbob

  8. My Flop Days always seem to remind me that I have to turn to Jesus and put my worries on Him. Something I have realy had to learn in the Last year since my wife died. Thank God for Salvation through Jesus Christ.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

