Clash of the Canines

pooch-princess.jpg          mist-a-ball.jpg

I’d like to dedicate the following quotes to 2 very special canines that have jealousy issues.  The dog on the left is Princess, a beautiful Sheltie owned by our friends Paul and Eva.  The dog with the ball is Misty, our Lhasa Apso who thinks she is the center of the universe.  We have been watching Princess this week while our friends are on vacation.  Our dog is so jealous that if she is upstairs and I’m downstairs and just speak the name of “Princess” that she will come running to where I am, in fear that Princess is going to get attention, a treat, etc. that Misty might miss  if she’s not right there.   If they are both in the same room, you can’t give one of them attention without the other one waltzing over for a pat on the head or a belly rub.  Sometimes I wish I could take both of them down to the altar and “pray ’em through”, but they’re dogs, and they just wouldn’t get it.  I’d love to give them a Bible study on this destructive vice, but they would not comprehend that either.  So, for the time being, I just laugh, and we all do what we can to give both of them the TLC they desire.

I hope you like the quotes.

“Jealousy is the tie that binds, and binds, and binds”  Helen Rowland

 

 

“Nothing is more capable of troubling our reason, and consuming our health, than secret notions of jealousy in solitude.”  Aphra Behn

 

 

It is not love that is blind, but jealousy.  Lawrence Durrell

 

 

“Jealousy is a tiger that tears not only its prey but also its own raging heart”  Anonymous

 

 

Jealousy is all the fun you think they had.  Erica Jong

 

 

To cure jealousy is to see it for what it is, a dissatisfaction with self  Joan Didion

 

 

The jealous are troublesome to others, but a torment to themselves  William Penn

 

12 thoughts on “Clash of the Canines

  1. Good quotes!

    I laughed at this post, because I remember well the jealousy between the two dogs. Now this would NEVER happen to male dogs. The female ones JUST DON’T GET IT!!! (just kidding)

    Tom, I think you’re right. The male dogs would just fight to the death, and then it would be done and over! LOL

  2. Love the quotes.As I was growing up we my stepmom and dad had this poodle that was very jealous. I don’t know which type of dog is the worse if its a dog that is jealous or a dog that is so spoiled rotten that she thinks she needs to be waited on hand and foot.

  3. Carol, enjoyed the post. Couldn’t help but laugh at your response to Tom. 😀

    Great Quotes!! I have seen this same action displayed between mankind as well. Sad to say but just like your dogs, they didn’t comprehend either. I guess that’s what The Song of Solomon 8:6 means when it says “Jealousy is cruel as the grave…”

  4. LOL! Great post, Carol. My family use to bring their dogs to Christmas at my folks home. Let’s see, we had 5 dogs there at once and it was quite a sight. Jealousy abounded. You can only imagine and there was 4 poodles and one something else (I don’t know). lol

  5. I laughed at this post. I could just see Misty in her jealous mode. I guess that even in the animal kingdom, jealousy abounds. Hmmm….I wonder what that says about our carnal nature when we are jealous? Good post Sis!

    Love ya,
    Keek

  6. I loved your doggie report! We have two female dogs, a Chihuahua and Jack Russell. They can sit with me together in my recliner occasionally without any fuss, but if my husband comes anywhere near my recliner… they burst into a seething, gnarling mass of noise, nips, and bites. Then one banned to the couch and the other to the chair… they sneak peeks at each other and if they catch the other one looking, then the growls deep from the throat start. The Jack Russell is so jealous if he shows the slightest attention to anyone but her. They are both spoiled rotten… LOL. Otherwise, they are great company for each other during the day while we’re at work.

  7. I love it! …And to think there are still people who think dogs aren’t at all like humans! This post made me chuckle–love the pics, the point, and the quotes!

    I agree with Shirley–“funny on dogs–not so cute on us humans!”

    I’m still picturing you taking the dogs down to the altar to “pray ’em through!” O.K., I’m chuckling again!

    Blessings!

  8. Great quotes and what cute little doggies. They both are really great dogs.

    Like Misty, Princess is glad to be home and see that all the suitcases are put away. She is glad to once again be the “top dog”. LOL.

    Thanks for watching her. I’m sure she and Misty were the center of lot of attention.

    Tell Misty Hi and I’ll see her Thursday. And of course I’ll be ready to rub her belly extra long. LOL!

Leave a Reply

