Walking In The Afterglow

Yesterday, I heard one of the best messages ever concerning seeking God.  I wish I could explain it in its’ entirety, but I know I couldn’t do it justice.  The preacher took his text from Exodus 33 where Moses asks God to show him His glory.  God told Moses that he could not see His face and live, but God would show him His back parts.  Just seeing and walking in that afterglow of God really changed Moses, and it can change us too.  I want to be changed to be more like Jesus, and it only happens through seeking Him! (through prayer, reading the Bible, listening to preaching, witnessing and worshipping)

To Walk In The Afterglow

 Lord, help us walk in the afterglow

that a holy encounter with You does show.

May we live lives that tell the story

that we’ve turned aside to behold Your glory.

 As more grace and love you bestow,

Lord, help us walk in the afterglow;

our hearts lead by Your divine direction

that of you, God, we may be a reflection. 

When time is spent in Your holy Word,

let us put into practice the things seen and heard.

Lord, help us walk in the afterglow;

to continue to reach for more; to grow. 

We can only be truly satisfied

when our self centeredness is crucified.

But how to defeat this fleshly foe?

Lord, help us walk in the afterglow!

 Written 9-24-07

13 thoughts on “Walking In The Afterglow

  1. What a beautiful poem Sis. You could almost turn that into a song. And what an awesome message that must have been. Do you have a copy of it? I’d like to hear it sometime if you do. I can remember some church services where God’s presence had been so thick and wonderful. We laughed, we cried, we shouted, we danced, we kneeled, we ran, and after that, we all just sat around basking in the afterglow of His holy presence. Thanks for sharing. Love, Keek

    We actually just started recording our services last week, so I can get you a copy. By the way, it was Brother Kerr that preached the message.

  2. I agree that the poem is wonderful. The thought is a good way to start my morning, too. Thanks for posting.

    Glad you liked it, Becky. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. To seek the Lord with a sincere fervor; to “hunger and thirst after righteousness” as Jesus mentions in Matthew. That we would cry out to be more like him and less like us. May we all be changed from glory to glory as we grow into the fullness of Christ. This is indeed an awesome poem.

    Have a blessed evening in Christ.

    timbob

  4. Nice…There’s no place I’d rather be than in His presence. I like your new format~

    Thanks for your comments. Who does enjoy fasting?? But I have to say it’s been good…good for me & because of it, I am interceding for the lost. That’s an answer to Jesus’ only prayer request…praying for the harvest. In sharing the 30 Days of Prayer for muslims…folks who pray will pray.

    Have a good one!

  5. Mom says: You could write a song with the poem that you wrote! It’s something that you can put down and pick up again and get renewed, and that’s what I like about it.

    Tom says: I’m sure it’d have been awesome to have been there to hear the sermon and sit together in “heaenly places” again in Him. Excellent poem!

  6. What a beautiful poem. I have returned to read it over many times now so I hope you don’t mind but I printed it out with your name to it and added it to my book of favorite poems. It has truly given me food for thought. Thanks for sharing.

    Hi Jolene. I’m glad you liked the poem, and I don’t mind you printing it. I hope you have a blessed weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

