What I Learned On The First Day Of School

We are studying a portion of World History this year, beginning with Napoleon and going through the Korean War.  Of course, I have heard the name  Napoleon many times, but I really couldn’t tell you much about him.  In listening to a history CD today, I heard something that Napoleon said about Jesus Christ.  It blew me away!  I looked to see if I could find it online, and I did.  Here is what I heard.

Napoleon expressed the following thoughts while he was exiled on the rock of St. Helena. There, the conqueror of civilized Europe had time to reflect on the measure of his accomplishments. He called Count Montholon to his side and asked him, “Can you tell me who Jesus Christ was?” The count declined to respond. Napoleon countered:

Well then, I will tell you. Alexander, Caesar, Charlemagne and I myself have founded great empires; but upon what did these creations of our genius depend? Upon force. Jesus alone founded His empire upon love, and to this very day millions will die for Him. . . . I think I understand something of human nature; and I tell you, all these were men, and I am a man; none else is like Him: Jesus Christ was more than a man. . . . I have inspired multitudes with such an enthusiastic devotion that they would have died for me . . . but to do this is was necessary that I should be visibly present with the electric influence of my looks, my words, of my voice. When I saw men and spoke to them, I lightened up the flame of self-devotion in their hearts. . . . Christ alone has succeeded in so raising the mind of man toward the unseen, that it becomes insensible to the barriers of time and space. Across a chasm of eighteen hundred years, Jesus Christ makes a demand which is beyond all others difficult to satisfy; He asks for that which a philosopher may often seek in vain at the hands of his friends, or a father of his children, or a bride of her spouse, or a man of his brother. He asks for the human heart; He will have it entirely to Himself. He demands it unconditionally; and forthwith His demand is granted. Wonderful! In defiance of time and space, the soul of man, with all its powers and faculties, becomes an annexation to the empire of Christ. All who sincerely believe in Him, experience that remarkable, supernatural love toward Him. This phenomenon is unaccountable; it is altogether beyond the scope of man’s creative powers. Time, the great destroyer, is powerless to extinguish this sacred flame; time can neither exhaust its strength nor put a limit to its range. This is it, which strikes me most; I have often thought of it. This it is which proves to me quite convincingly the Divinity of Jesus Christ.

You might think I’m weird, but I just thought it was incredible that someone as prideful and full of himself as Napoleon said this, and I just wanted to share it.

8 thoughts on “What I Learned On The First Day Of School

  1. I don’t think your wierd. I think it is kinda cool. I never would have guessed. Thanks for sharing. Glad you had a good “First” day of school. Enjoy your homeschooling day.

    God Bless!

    Thanks, Eva. I never had world history in school, so this is kind of exciting for me.

  2. On the contrary, I think it’s fascinating that Napoleon inquired about Jesus. I think more people should know this and sadly our public schools (at least mine) don’t teach about these ‘details’.

    PS: I’m liking the new look!

  3. I don’t think it’s weird at all. I think this passage generates great hope for all who believe. It isn’t who we are and what what we do or even how we express our belief that makes our salvation possible; it is that “sacred flame” of divinity – present and un-destroyable throughout the ages; it is Emmanuel: God with us, dying for us, and now in us through the Holy Spirit. That is what Napoleon saw in Jesus.

  4. Hi!Check this out and you see what I mean.He!He!He!
    “I know men and I tell you that Jesus Christ is no mere man. Between Him and every other person in the world there is no possible term of comparison. Alexander, Caesar, Charlemagne, and I have founded empires. But on what did we rest the creation of our genius? Upon force. Jesus Christ founded His empire upon love; and at this hour millions of men would die for Him.”
    –Napoleon ………….. See :).
    Wish you all well with schooling.

  5. I never knew Napoleaon expressed this either. Perhaps if the man were alive today, he might be persuaded to believe in the Acts 2:38/one God message.

    Mom says: “Well shut my mouth and call me dumb.” (laugh) It’s very interesting. Napoleon could’ve had a great witness for Christ . . . if only he let go of his pride.

  6. Well, now I can say that I learned something new today. Thank you, Sissy, for sharing this with your blog fans. I have a greater appreciation for history now than when I was in school. If you learn anything else that you think we might like to know, please do share! I want to keep my brain cells full!!! Love, keek

Leave a Reply

