When It Gets Too Hot For Comfort

The past few days, we have had some real scorchers here in California.  It seems that people have a tendency to get kind of cranky when the weather is hotter.  My husband had mentioned a while ago to the kids that when the heat rises, we also have a rise in crime.  I was on my way to the bank with the kids in the car, and we were talking about road rage.  I pulled into the bank parking lot to use the ATM machine.  As I walked across the lot to get to the ATM, a van came tearing around the corner.  It didn’t look like it was going to slow down, and I realized if he didn’t, and I just kept on walking at my current pace, I would probably get hit.  It was a good thing I ran, because the van driver never did slow down and went tearing out of the parking lot.  Thank you Jesus for protecting me!

Today was another very hot day, and our family went to the State Fair in Sacramento.  Even though the weather wasn’t as cool as we would have liked, we still had a good time.  Later, I thought of a little rhyme my mom used to sing in the summer, when  I was a kid.

When it gets too hot for comfort

and you can’t eat icecream cones

well, it ain’t no sin

to take off your skin

and dance around in your bones.

 

I know it’s a silly little song, but as I thought about it, I realized that it illustrates an important point.  Sometimes things do not go the way we had planned or expected.  When that happens we have two choices.  We can brood and be upset about things not going our way(which would be like complaining because it’s hot and we can’t eat icecream cones) or we can choose to make the best of our situation. (dancing around in our bones)

I can’t say that I never fall short in this area, but now that I’ve written this, maybe my memory will be jarred the next time I am tempted to complain, and I will choose to dance in my bones instead.  🙂

7 thoughts on “When It Gets Too Hot For Comfort

  1. I have had that feeling but then I asked myself 🙂 “Shouldn’t we always count our Blessings”Yes Unfortunately,we do not always realize when we are blessed.Thanks for sharing He!He!He!

  2. I, too, will be glad to see fall. And when I “count my blessings” as Zingtrial suggests, I find I have many but do not see “sweating like a pig” among them. 🙂

    Hi Helen. While I don’t consider sweating one of my favorite things to do, there is still a blessing in this necessary body function. Sweating helps control our body temperature, and if we weren’t able to sweat we would quickly suffer heat stroke and possible death. Just another perspective.

  3. My husband preached a message titled Dancing With Broken Bones several years ago and it is one that has always stuck with me. I think I will pass your mother’s little song to him to add to his notes. A line from another song that I like is, “If you have the choice to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance.” Great post!

  4. Wow Sissy! I’m so thankful God annointed your legs to hightail it out of that lot! Glad you’re okay. I was just thinking today about all the things God has kept us from and wondering how many things I don’t know about that he protected me from throughout my life. Someday I think He will show us, and we will be even more appreciative of our God’s mercy and grace.

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

