Say It With Flowers

anniversary-flowers-1.jpg    anniversary-flowers-2.jpg

These are a couple of shots of a gladiola arrangement that my husband surprised me with for our anniversary.  While our anniversary is actually a couple of weeks away, he brought this home early for me to enjoy since I will be at Jr. Camp on that day.  Flowers have always played a part in our courtship and married life.  Back in our Bible college days when we were engaged, a lot of dead roses occupied the little desk area in my dormitory room.  I couldn’t bare to throw them out until they were brown and shriveled.  I finally had to throw out this arrangement today(although I still have the beautiful vase), because it was pitifully withered.  I’m glad I did get a couple of pictures while the flowers were still in bloom. 

In thinking about the beauty of flowers, I came across these quotes.  If you have a moment, please let me know which quote you like the best and if you have a favorite flower.

Flowers are love’s truest language.
–   Park Benjamin

 I do not think I have ever seen anything more beautiful
than the bluebell I have been looking at.  
I know the beauty of our Lord by it.
–  Gerald Manley Hopkins

Where flowers bloom so does hope.
–  Lady Bird Johnson, Public Roads: Where Flowers Bloom

When bright flowers bloom
Parchment crumbles, my words fade
The pen has dropped …
–   Morpheus

Flowers are love’s truest language.
–   Park Benjamin

 I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.
–  Claude Monet

We can complain because rose bushes have thorns,
or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.
–  Abraham Lincoln 

This old world that we’re livin’ in
Is might hard to beat.
                 You get a thorn with every Rose
         But – ain’t the roses sweet?
–  Frank Stanton

11 thoughts on “Say It With Flowers

  1. Lovely arrangements Sissy. We have red gladiolas growing in our yard. When they can’t stand up any longer, Mike has been cutting them and putting them in a vase in our entryway. What an appropriate name for these flowers because they make one glad! Happy 24th! Next year’s the big Silver one!
    Love,
    Keek

  2. Aww… that is so sweet. They look so elegant and beautiful!

    lol…I’m glad I’m not the only one who won’t throw out flowers just cause they’re dry…I keep them in a big vase and put scented oil on them to make a nice table top… 🙂

  3. You are blessed with a sweet husband. Let me add my congratulations to those of the others.

    My favorite quote is the one by Lincoln. My favorite flower is forsythia.

    Have a good time at Jr. Camp.

    Thanks, Becky.

Leave a Reply

