Don’t Tell Him He Won’t Do It

A few months ago, my husband was talking with my daughter about planting some tomatoes in our backyard.  My daughter said something to the affect of, “Aw, you won’t do it.  You’ve talked about that before, but nothing ever came of it.”  He proved her wrong.

tomato-plant.jpg         tomato-close-up.jpg

Even though the tomato plants weren’t staked like they should have been, they have really produced, and they are the best cherry tomatoes I’ve ever had!  We’ve been eating them a lot this summer as a snack or in salads and giving some of them away to friends and neighbors too.  A few days ago, our family was talking with some friends about this icecream maker that their daughter has and how she made some delicious strawberry icecream for a recent family get together.  My husband mentioned that he would really like to get one of those icecream makers sometime.  Jennifer told him that she had heard him say that before, but so far he hadn’t gotten one. Guess what my husband went out and purchased that very day?

icecream-maker.jpg

Even now as I write, my husband is preparing some peanut butter cup icecream in his new icecream maker.  As I was thinking about how my honey did these two things that my daughter didn’t think he’d do, I recalled the following poem.

It Couldn’t Be Done

by Edgar A. Guest

Somebody said that it couldn’t be done,
But  he with a chuckle replied
That maybe it couldn’t, but he would be one
Who wouldn’t say so till he’d tried.

So he buckled right in with the trace of a grin
on his face. If he worried he hid it.
He started to sing as he tackled the thing
That couldn’t be done, and he did it.

Somebody scoffed: Oh, you’ll never do that;
At least no one ever has done it;
But he took off his coat and he took off his hat,
And the first thing we knew he’d begun it.

With a lift of his chin and a bit of a grin,
Without any doubting or quiddit,
He started to sing as he tackled the thing
That couldn’t be done, and he did it.

There are thousands to tell you it cannot be done,
There are thousands to point out to you, one by one,
The dangers that wait to assail you.
But just buckle in with a bit of a grin,
Just take off your coat and go to it;
Just start to sing as you tackle the thing
That cannot be done, and you’ll do it.

I’ll have to let everyone know later how the icecream turns out.  🙂

Update:  While the icecream tasted good, it was totally the wrong consistency.  I would say it was more like a cross between cookie dough and pudding.  However, we know the old saying, “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.” 

7 thoughts on “Don’t Tell Him He Won’t Do It

  1. What??? No tomato ice cream. And you had me all prepared for that. 🙂

    You know, we might try that flavor sometime. After all, tomatoes are actually a fruit. 🙂

  2. Carol,

    Thanks for stopping by and reading my poem. I took the time to read some of the ones that you have written and they are absolutely amazing! I wish that I could write in the different styles that you write in.

    God Bless
    Yvonne

  3. Those cherry tomatoes WERE GOOD! When mom saw the ice cream maker she gasped–OH, I’ve got to have some peanut butter cup ice cream. (Perhaps for her birthday?) That poem reminds me of Tzeetz who memorized the entire thing. I just know the first stanza. Maybe I’ll work on the other half.

    Perhaps we can make some for mom when we work out some of the kinks and get the consistency right. I think next time, we might try something simpler like chocolate, vanilla or strawberry.
    I remember when you used that poem at Dad’s funeral. It was just right for the occasion.

  4. Carol, I got your address from reading the comments left on Yvonne’s blogspot. First I want to thank you for stopping by and paying her a visit. She is a character, so silly and so much fun but at the same time so so smart. That girl has so much knowledge in her head that it makes me feel like, well, we won’t go there. Even as a little girl she would blow us away with her smarts. She is studying to become a lawyer and she will make a good one for she can argue with a sign post and convince it that it is wrong. But you know, you are very good with your writings as well. Like Yvonne, I took the time to read some of your poems. I will be sure to stop by often to read more. Until next time.

    Hi Jolene. Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comments. Being able to argue a point and convince other that they are wrong, when they really are is a good thing. I’m sure when it’s done tactfully, it can be a great asset in witnessing. Your niece seems like a fine young lady, and I’m sure that God has great plans for her life. God bless you.

  5. Thanks for the tomatoes Sis, They were delish! Boy, Jen really has her dad pegged and knows how to get something! lol
    I was given a tomato plant by one of my employees, and although It’s probably only yielded a handful of cherry tomatoes, they were sweet and juicy! It’s so rewarding to enjoy the fruit of your labors. The poem definitely reminds me of Mom. She loves Edgar Guest and used to love reading his poems to us as children. I’m sure you guys will have the homemade icecream perfected in time for mom’s b-day next month. Looking forward to trying some. Love, Keek

  6. growing and making our own food is a good way to communicate values to the kids, not everything comes from the market, ready to eat.
    effort, and care produce yummy things, and memories
    ( making pickles today, here)

Leave a Reply

