10 Random Facts About Me

I was tagged by my daughter to do this meme.  I’m not going to tag anybody else, and I don’t think I’m going to do another one of these any time soon.  I’m kind of tired of them, but here goes.

1.  There are only two things in life that I really had a strong desire to become as an adult.  The first was a teacher.  The second was a writer.  I am a teacher in that I homeschool my kids, teach Sunday school and Youth ALIVE weekly and will be teaching a writing class to homeschoolers this fall.  I am a writer in that I write poetry, do some journaling and have my blog.  God allowed me to become both of these things but not in the way that I had envisioned.  His plans were better!

2.  I am constantly making plays on words and using synonyms and antonyms to change the names of stores, restaurants, etc.  For instance, I may say Burrito Gong instead of Taco Bell or Enter and Exit instead of In and Out(burgers).  Weird, huh?

3.  I’m not an immaculate housekeeper.  I don’t enjoy housecleaning much and basically do it to save myself and my family from embarrassment.

4.  My favorite thing about homeschool has been reading good quality literature outloud to my children.

5.  My name means “song of joy” and I do enjoy singing very much.

6.  I have always been an introvert, which has been the struggle of my life.  However, God has helped me and continues to help me to learn to love and relate to people.

7.  I would rather send e-mail than talk on the phone almost any day.

8.  I do have a dream of one day becoming a published author.

9.  There is no better feeling in the world to me than feeling the awesome presence of Jesus Christ!

10.  I would find it very difficult to exist without a Bible and a dictionary.

7 thoughts on “10 Random Facts About Me

  1. Hi Sis:

    I think I pretty much knew all these facts about my dear sissy, but I really like #2. I like how you change words around and do puns and fun stuff with words. You are quite the wordsmith, but I’m glad I finally beat you in a game of Boggle on the 4th of July…even though it was shortlived!

    I love you just the way your are!

    Keek

    Oy! The Boggle defeat was agonizing, but it’s hard to keep on top of the game all the time. 🙂 I love you just the way you are too. You are my wonderful big sister.

  2. #3 was funny! and for #10 my answer would have been my laptop b/c it includes both!

    PS: I always enjoy knowing tidbits about you ‘song of joy”! 🙂

    I have the Bible and a dictionary on our computer too. I look up things in dictionary.com quite often, but when it comes to reading the Bible, I just prefer it in book form.

  3. Hi Carol, Concerning #3, I concur. 🙂

    I have a feeling, Helen, that most women probably feel this way. Who wants to do housework when blogging is so much more fun? 🙂

  4. Hello, Carol!

    My name is Paul and I am trying to get around and get to know some of the people who frequented Jack’s devotional site. We are going to miss Jack, and are going to do our best to continue what he started. One thing I do know, is that it was people like you who really encouraged Jack — he loved you all like family and spoke of each one who regularly conversed with him on the site.

    We would also appreciate your prayers. We are going to try to eventually launch Common Sense Christian as a resource bringing back the basics of God’s wonderful gospel. It was a vision of Jack’s to create something that would help people develop the relationship we are capable of having with our Lord. To Jack, Christianity wasn’t about our Church or about telling others what to do–it was about his love for the Lord and the personal relationship he had with him. He wanted to share the reality of that, and we are going to continue to learn and develop so that we can promote just that.

    Carol, thanks so much for the encouragement you have been to all of us on the site.

    Paul

  5. I think I knew most of those facts about you. I DO think you are a good housekeeper, though, even if you don’t like to do that. I like fact #7 since I am the same way; I’d rather e-mail than talk on the phone. I’ve got to send Jen my 10 facts. I’ve been lax in doing that.

  6. Well, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, Carol. I’m going to put my 2 cents in here and address this to your family members who are bloggers. I would like to hear YOUR ten things about Carol. What do you think about that? Would you put ten things on your blog about Carol? Your family has such a wonderful, close relationship with each other. It is so wonderful reading things you guys say about each other. I feel so much love and admiration. I’m just really touched by your family. 🙂
    Love you!

    Thank you, Tena for your kind comments. I feel very blessed to have the family that God has given me. We always have such great times when we are together. We were close before we knew God, but our relationship became even better after we established a relationship with Him. I give God all the glory!

  7. #9 is my favorite and I can totally related to #3.

    All blessings to you today in Christ Jesus,
    Scotti

    Hi Scotti,
    Thanks so much for stopping by. May you have a blessed day in Jesus too.

Leave a Reply

