‘Bout Jumped Out Of My Skin

On Sunday we had a visiting evangelist come and preach for us, and God blessed His people in a mighty way.  He certainly blessed me mightily, and I sure am thankful for it.  This past Friday, I reluctantly went to the doctor after having a cough for two months that I could not shake.  The doctor felt I had some kind of infection and prescribed an antiobiotic but also wanted me to get a chest x-ray.  I went and got the x-ray, picked up the antibiotic and went home.  The next afternoon, a message was left on my cell phone that the doctor wanted me to come back for another x-ray.  Guess what I did in my mind?  I freaked out!!  Now, I know I’m supposed to trust God, but all kinds of imaginations of worse case scenario began to try to embed themselves in my mind.  I told my husband about the phone call and we prayed together before I went to get my second x-ray.  All through that day, I went back and forth between feeling like I trusted God to having to cast down imaginations of the worst sort.  I felt really lousy when I first got up on Sunday and wondered if I’d even be able to sing for worship service.  After a while, I felt better and was able to get ready and make it to church.  The evangelist preached concerning revelations from the book of Job.  He brought up so many things in Job that I had not seen before.  He talked about how God basically picked a fight with satan by saying, “Have you considered my servant Job?” God had confidence in Job that whatever He might allow satan to throw Job’s way, Job would be faithful and come through it.  Next, the evangelist mentioned that satan never told Job what he was going to do to him.  He just did it.  The Bible compares satan to a roaring lion in I Peter 5:8.  Although a lion’s roar may sound scary, it really can’t hurt anyone.  Sometimes satan can “roar” in our minds, telling of terrible things that are going to befall us.  That’s all it is is a roar.  If he could really do what he is suggesting to you, he wouldn’t bother telling you, he would just do it.  Wow!  That really struck home with me, and I couldn’t help but get out of my seat and scream, dance, shout and worship the Lord!  No matter what the results of my x-rays, I knew that God had His hand on me, and I was going to trust Him. 

I want to share one more thing that was said that really stuck with me.  When Job’s wife told him to “curse God and die”, she really did him a favor.  I’ve heard a lot of preachers in the past portray Job’s wife as husband hater/God hater.  This evangelist believes that Job’s wife really did love Job, but because of all she had lost and all of the things that she had seen her husband suffer, she perhaps thought that death would be the most merciful thing that could happen to him.  He imagined Job saying to his wife, “Do you really think that’s true?  Do you think if I curse God, I will die?”  Do you know what Job did?  He did the opposite of what his wife told him to do.  He blessed God AND HE LIVED!!!  I thought that was so awesome.

Tuesday, I got a call from the doctor’s office.  My x-rays came back normal.  Praise the Lord!  Perhaps something did show up on my x-ray, and God healed me. I don’t know, but I do believe God can heal our bodies even before we know something is wrong with them.  When we make it to heaven, I believe we’re going to be mighty surprised when God reveals to us all the times He has touched us and kept us from things when we had no idea we were even in danger.  He is truly an awesome God!

15 thoughts on “‘Bout Jumped Out Of My Skin

  1. Well, Praise the Lord, and Praise the Lord!!! God can heal us when we don’t even know we’re sick. Perhaps, He did that for you.

    Amen, Helen.

  2. Your evangelist is a lier and fond of fables. There are a lot of ways to die but the worst advise you can say to a man is to curse God! More so in the lowest point of his life. This kind of thinking has lead millions of people to death and hell. Thinking you are doing a man a favor. Haven’t he thought of that Satan used the woman because the woman was unrighteous, even from the very beginning? What the heart contains, the tounge utters.

    Hello Elmantheman,

    Of course, you are entitled to your opinion, but I do think it’s a little severe to call this evangelist a liar and fond of fables when you don’t know anything about him. I don’t think it’s wise to advise someone to curse God and die either, but the important thing is that Job didn’t take that advice from his wife. He did just the opposite, and God blessed him! The Bible mentions in Romans 8 that “all things work together for good to those who love the Lord and are the called according to his purpose.” Although the advice of Job’s wife was not good, I believe God turned it around and used it for Job’s good. I hope this makes sense to you. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.

  3. I would have not reacted should your evangelist said like that of your comment:
    “I don’t think it’s wise to advise someone to curse God and die either, but the important thing is that Job didn’t take that advice from his wife. He did just the opposite, and God blessed him! The Bible mentions in Romans 8 that “all things work together for good to those who love the Lord and are the called according to his purpose.” Although the advice of Job’s wife was not good, I believe God turned it around and used it for Job’s good.”
    Precisely! Romans 8:28: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”
    My comment was about your evangelist insinuating that the woman is not a God-hater but rather, a loving wife. Imagine, there are many means and ways to die. But the worst advise is the one she uttered! What she uttered came from her heart! Your evangelist presumed wrong and used the bible which can lead to wrong faith. That is the reason I called him a liar and fond of fables.
    thanks for the space.

    The evangelist was just giving his opinion on what Job’s wife said. I don’t think his opinion would damage anyone’s faith as far as salvation is concerned. We have no way of knowing for certain if Job’s wife uttered this because she was bitter against God or just because she was in anguish over having lost all the cattle, donkeys, camels, all of her children and then seeing her husband suffering physically. Have you ever said something because you were in anguish or stressed out and then realized you didn’t really mean it? Maybe this was the case with Mrs. Job. Anyway, the important thing is that Job chose not to follow this advice and continued giving thanks and praise to God in spite of his circumstances. While it’s not always an easy thing to do, I think Job set a great example for us.

  4. Mathew 12:

    34O generation of vipers, how can ye, being evil, speak good things? for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.

    35A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things.

  5. I interpretted the viewpoint of Job’s wife was, “(If you) curse God, and (you will) die.” But as you said, Job did the opposite. The so said “unrighteous” wife of Job was blessed with 10 more children. The 3 daughters of Job being the most beautiful in the land and recieved inheritance as well as their brothers.

    Anyway, I am rejoicing in the report of the Great Physician!

    Love and Prayers,
    Kristin

  6. Awesome testimony. I love it when evangelists present thoughts that challenge us to think about Bible stories in a different light. You know there are people who believe in assisted suicide for their loved ones who have terminal disease. Perhaps, Mrs. Job was speaking in love. Anyway, it is an interesting perspective on the story. Who knows if she spoke in love or anger, the main point is that Job had enough strength of the Lord to persevere. Hope you continue to have such powerful services. I truly believe in devine healing.

  7. Well I haven’t heard yet nor read that the foolish woman got pregnant again and gave Job sons and daughters. Look up Job 42:12-15What I am trying to emphasize here is that you are now speculating about Job’s wife, and you learned to do that because of your evangelist.Well, somehow Job ended up with another 7 sons and 3 daughters, and the Bible never mentions his wife dying or him remarrying, so it seems logical that these children would have been from the wife who told him to curse God and die.A praise underserved is a scandal in disguise! I’m not sure what you are talking about here. What did Job told his wife?
    Job 2:
    9Then said his wife unto him, Dost thou still retain thine integrity? curse God, and die.
    10But he said unto her, Thou speakest as one of the foolish women speaketh. What? shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips.
    Who shall we believe in, your evangelist that speculates or Job himself who knows his wife better than anyone of us?
    The moral here is that a minister teaching abut the bible should impart to the listeners that the bible is not merely hearsays nor speculations but rather the truth. “You that listen to fables are fools.” Of course I am not saying that you are a fool. I just read it from the bible! If you think me a fool, you are entitled to your opinion. If I am a fool, I hope I’m the type that Paul mentions in I Corinthians 4:10 4:10 We are [looked upon as] fools on account of Christ and for His sake, but you are [supposedly] so amazingly wise and prudent in Christ! We are weak, but you are [so very] strong! You are highly esteemed, but we are in disrepute and contempt!
    2 Timothy 4:3-4 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

    The whole reason I wrote this post was not to quibble over semantics but to give glory to God for the touch I received in my spirit in this church service. If you want to disagree with our evangelist, you have that right, and I am not offended. If you had been there to hear the entire message you may feel differently, but I guess that is a moot point.

  8. There you go again, starting your answers with assumptions!

    Actually, you just proved a point, imagine, the story of Job retold by you and your minister with added assumptions and false interpretation! Can your minister give supporting verses about what he told you?

    John 7: 17 If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself.

    Why would you use 1 cor 4:10? Please use it not for self serving reasons. I just pointed out to you of what is wrong on how your minister guides you in understanding the word of God. That instead of presenting the true account of Job, he created follies in the mind of his listeners by interpreting it in such a way that no supporting verses can be found in the scriptures.

    Let me remind you of what the apostle Paul foretold on how an audience reacts to those false ministers or what those ministers do:

    2 Timothy 4:3-4 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

    to those false ministers:

    1Tim 1:7 And those who wanting to be teachers of the law, but without understanding either what they are saying or what they assert with such assurance.

  9. It is really interesting to talk about God and salvation.
    I am glad there are bloggers who uplift God. Would you imagine a lot of atheists uses this site to propagate their ignorance?
    (Philippians 1:15-18) “It’s true that some preach about Christ because they are jealous. But others preach about Christ to help me in my work. The last group acts out of love. They know I have been put here to stand up for the good news. But the others preach about Christ only to get ahead. They are not honest and true. They think they can stir up trouble for me while I am being held by chains. But what does it matter? Here is the important thing. Whether for reasons that are right or wrong, Christ is being preached about. That makes me very glad. And I will continue to be glad.” NIRV

    I’m glad you feel this way. I’ve been encouraged by many bloggers that talk about the Lord.

  10. You got a lot of comments on this one, Carol. I’m glad for the TRUE REPORT! Good report for you! Good message on Job! Good time to PRAISE THE LORD!!

  11. Sissy:

    I just saw this post. Must’ve missed it when I was on vacation. I can relate to how you felt. A few days before Christmas, I had passed blood in my stools a couple of times. I was terrified that I had colon cancer, and it was quite difficult to get through the holidays and work with this constant worry in my heart. In mid January, I had the colonoscopy, and everything looked just fine. Just a couple of “emerods” as the bible called them! Thank God for His grace and mercy. He knows that we are frail dust, and at times our faith falters.

Leave a Reply

