The Next Generation Must Know

The Next Generation Must Know 

The next generation must know

The holy God who loves them so

It’s up to you ; it’s up to me

Display the Lord for them to see.

 

 

Although we fight that ancient foe

The next generation must know

A godly power strong and great

To conquer satan’s cruel hate.

 

 

A certain sound calls to be heard

‘tis the voice of God’s written Word

The next generation must know

His sacred writ that saves the soul.

 

 

Our apostolic history

Must not remain a mystery

If we long to flourish and grow

The next generation must know!

 

 

Written 5-25-07 

Psalm 71:18  Now also when I am old and grayheaded, O God, forsake me not; until I have shewed thy strength unto this generation, and thy power to every one that is to come.  

Psalm 78:1  A skillful song, or a didactic or reflective poem, of Asaph. GIVE EAR, O my people, to my teaching; incline your ears to the words of my mouth. 78:2  I will open my mouth in a parable (in instruction by numerous examples); I will utter dark sayings of old [that hide important truth]–[Matt. 13:34, 35.] 78:3  Which we have heard and known, and our fathers have told us. 78:4  We will not hide them from their children, but we will tell to the generation to come the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord, and His might, and the wonderful works that He has performed. 78:5  For He established a testimony (an express precept) in Jacob and appointed a law in Israel, commanding our fathers that they should make [the great facts of God’s dealings with
Israel
] known to their children,
78:6  That the generation to come might know them, that the children still to be born might arise and recount them to their children, 78:7  That they might set their hope in God and not forget the works of God, but might keep His commandments. 

2Timothy 1:5  When I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in thee, which dwelt first in thy grandmother Lois, and thy mother Eunice; and I am persuaded that in thee also.

This type of poem is called a quatern.  

4 thoughts on “The Next Generation Must Know

  1. I love this!

    Thanks, Ronda. We are combining our Sunday schools classes over the summer and having children’s church. The curriculum we will be using is called Real Pentecostals and deals with the history of Pentecost and some of the Pentecostal pioneers. I feel it’s important for our kids to know their roots and to know about the men and women who made sacrifices to get us to where we are today. I was thinking about all of this when I wrote this poem.

  2. I love it! Beautiful. Amen and Amen to these words.
    All blessings to you today in the Lord Jesus,
    Scotti

    Thank you, Scotti.

  3. Greetings. Awesome poem and ever so important.
    Have a great weekend in Christ.
    timbob

    Thanks, Timbob. Hope you have a great weekend too.

Leave a Reply

