A Settled Account

Do you have certain chores you do that you honestly do not enjoy?  One thing I am not really fond of doing is balancing bank accounts.  Each month I balance 2 church accounts and my husband’s business account.  Dealing with numbers is not something over which I go wild with delight, yet I do this every month because I know it is needful and beneficial.  If we didn’t have accurate account balances, we could quickly get ourselves in trouble.  Happily, I can report that all 3 accounts balanced.(although the business account took a little longer, because I let it go for a month. 😦 

While I was balancing these accounts, the Lord brought a Scripture to my mind.

Heb 12:2

(AMP) Looking away [from all that will distract] to Jesus, Who is the Leader and the Source of our faith [giving the first incentive for our belief] and is also its Finisher [bringing it to maturity and perfection]. He, for the joy [of obtaining the prize] that was set before Him, endured the cross, despising and ignoring the shame, and is now seated at the right hand of the throne of God. [Ps. 110:1.]

Jesus endured something far worse than I will ever endure.  He endured the cross.  It wasn’t a nice white cross with golden sunlight shining on it as we sometimes see it depicted.  It was a bloody cross, and the One who hung upon it not only suffered physical agony but the cruel, heartbreaking punishment of bearing the sins of the whole world upon His body.  Because of what He endured, I have joy today, the joy of salvation!  There was a time in my life when I would have been “weighed in the balances and found wanting”, but thanks to His perfect sacrifice and amazing grace, my account has been settled!

The Old Account Settled

There was a time on earth, when in the book of Heav’n
An old account was standing for sins yet unforgiv’n;
My name was at the top, and many things below,
I went unto the Keeper, and settled long ago.

Refrain

Long ago (down on my knees), long ago (I settled it all),
Yes, the old account was settled long ago (Hallelujah!);
And the record’s clear today, for He washed my sins away,
When the old account was settled long ago.

The old account was large, and growing every day,
For I was always sinning, and never tried to pay;
But when I looked ahead, and saw such pain and woe,
I said that I would settle, I settled long ago.

Refrain

When in that happy home, my Savior’s home above,
I’ll sing redemption’s story, and praise Him for His love;
I’ll not forget that book, with pages white as snow,
Because I came and settled, and settled long ago.

Refrain

O sinner, trust the Lord, be cleansed of all your sin,
For thus He hath provided for you to enter in;
And then if you should live a hundred years below,
Up there you’ll not regret it, you settled long ago.

words and music by Frank M. Graham

7 thoughts on “A Settled Account

  1. Sissy: I can definitely relate. I have 2 accounts I have to balance every month, and I am behind! Thank God we settled our account with The Lord and we are reconciled to Him through his blood and by His Grace.

    I love you!
    Keek

  2. Carol,

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    I have a confession. I hate to balance my home checking account and have put it off for four months before. It took almost 5 hours to balance… and I was ecstatic when the job was done.

    You are right… what I felt when I finally finished my checkbook pales in comparison to the joy I feel over the account I have settled in heaven.

    Thanks for you throughts ~

  3. I worked in banking for many years and now balance several accounts each month. I actually enjoy it and feel thrilled when everything is “to the penny” right. What I despise, is laundry! YUCK!!! I am really glad that God is such a great bookkeeper and settled my account.

  4. “long ago, long ago…” I love that song! Oh how I miss those old hyms!! Thank God for my old pastors who introduced me to a lot of the great hymns. Oh, today’s “modern worship” is often soooo shallow! Not like these old hymns that really make you THINK about the Christian life.

    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

