The Blessing Of Praise

Praising God is a powerful thing.  Not only is it pleasing to God, but it can lift and liberate our spirits and also have an effect on others around us.  I believe this is why the devil tries so hard to keep us from giving God praise.  In reading Acts 16, it would seem that Paul and Silas had every reason not to praise God. They had just done a good thing by casting a demon out of a woman who was being used by her masters to make money through fortunetelling.  Seeing that their income was lost, these men became angry and were able to persuade the right people to have Paul and Silas beaten and thrown in a prison.  It seemed like a pretty rotten deal for Paul and Silas.  It would have been very easy for them to become bitter or wallow in self pity, but instead we find them in Acts 16:25 singing and praising God.  Something tremendous happened as they praised God.  An earthquake shook the prison, and not only did their shackles fall off, but all the other prisoners had their shackles loosed as well.  God always responds to true praise and worship!  We are bound to have times when we go to church and do not feel one bit like praising the Lord.  It could be that we have had a bad day, we’re going through financial trouble or we’re just experiencing the struggles of life.  If we can just make up our minds to praise God anyhow, He can unloose those invisible shackles that try to bind us, and our praise can make a difference to others in the congregation that may be struggling too.  While thinking on this, I wrote the following poem.  I hope it will be a blessing to you.

This type of poem is called an OttavaRima. 

The Blessing Of Praise 

Although skies may loom darkly overhead,

and sorrows can produce such cloudy days,

in pondering this case it must be said

that God is still worthy of our praise!

And whether we have joy or pain or dread;

storm showers or the sun’s inviting rays,

whatever we’re called to drink from life’s cup,

in adoration, lift the Saviour up!

Don’t let perceptions become heavy bands

that bind your spirit and incarcerate.

Break forth in worship.  Lift up holy hands.

God is still on the throne, and He is great!

If no longer in bondage to sin’s demands,

in His service you’re blessed to participate.

The praise that you offer, dear saint, is a key

to help some poor soul who yearns to be free.

Perhaps it is time to do a self check

if you’re hindered from praising the Lord;

and pick yourself up by the scruff of the neck.

Put God back in place, let Him be adored.

When on His goodness you truly reflect,

you’ll heap as much praise as you can afford

and as in true worship, you overflow

you’ll bless God, self and others more than you know!

Written 4-16-07 

 Acts 16:25  And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them. Acts 16:26  And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed. 

  Psalm 150:1  Praise ye the LORD. Praise God in his sanctuary: praise him in the firmament of his power. Psalm 150:2  Praise him for his mighty acts: praise him according to his excellent greatness.  Psalm 150:3  Praise him with the sound of the trumpet: praise him with the psaltery and harp. Psalm 150:4  Praise him with the timbrel and dance: praise him with stringed instruments and organs. Psalm 150:5  Praise him upon the loud cymbals: praise him upon the high sounding cymbals. Psalm 150:6  Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD. Praise ye the LORD.  

9 thoughts on “The Blessing Of Praise

  1. Great post Sissy! As Pastor Alvarez says, “You can worship your way out of anything.” I’ve experienced instances in my life, and I know you have too, where I was down in the mullygrubs about trials. When I began to praise God for who He is, those troubles didn’t seem so big anymore, and I was lifted into His glorious presence. Good reminder!

    Love,
    Keek

  2. To worship the Lord in spirit and in truth always. Indeed, its hard for the “mullygrubs” (I haven’t heard that word in a long time) to hand around when the name of Jesus is being lifted up. Thanks for a great post.

    have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  3. Hello there,
    very nice what you’ve said. I live a life which is based on prayers and in praising the Lord. I do have to admit that praying and investing time in His company it’s one of his greatest graces. In my “poorness” and sometimes emptyness I feel as if no human soul could pray “thy will be done”. it’s the hardest pray we can come up with; it’s the greatest joy we are given after ourselves to us.
    Pace e Bene
    br.Freddie OFM

  4. Very Good posts. I am truly touched today. I am facing trials and I am going to Praise God with no money to buy Christmas Gifts yet! I am going to Praise God that my bills are not paid Yet! And I am going to Praise God even though my Music Ministry has not taken off Yet! I am even going to Praise Him that My CHildren and I don’t have our own Home Yet!! He is a miracle worker and he has and continues to keep me. He is Powerful! He is King of Kings and Lord of Lords!! He is Worthy to be Praised. I am going to Praise him in the Sanctuary, at home, in my car, on my job and everywhere I go.

    Praise God!!

    Hi Crystal. Thanks for dropping by my blog. No matter what we’re going through, God is still worthy to be praised. My former pastor used to teach us that you can praise your way out of anything. Praise does not always change our situations, but it definitely changes us. May God’s blessing be upon your life as you seek Him and continue to praise Him.

Leave a Reply

