Out of the mouths of babes

Last night, I pulled a little switch on the kids at Youth A.L.I.V.E.  I told them that I wasn’t going to teach them, but that they were going to teach me instead.  We played a little game I found on a website called Seeing God In Everything.  Ahead of time, I had gathered some household objects and put them in a paper bag.  Each kid had to grab an object out of the bag and tell how they thought the object related to God or to a truth in the Bible.  Pretty interesting!  Here are some of the things they shared.

Box of Candy Cane Lane tea – This sweet smelling tea reminded one of my students of the fragrant gifts of frankincense and myrrh that were given to Jesus by the wisemen.

A roll of electrical tape – The next student said, “This tape reminds you that the devil cannot bind you.”

A somewhat pointy potato peeler – The next creative thinker said that this potato peeler reminded him of the dagger that Ehud used to stab Eglon in the book of Judges.  (By the way, if you’ve never read the book of Judges, and you like unusual stories, I recommend reading it.)

A sheet of address labels – This reminds us that God knows where we live.

A bear shaped plastic jar that used to be filled with candy – This student said that this bear once was filled with candy that you could access by taking off the lid on top.  Then you could pour out the candy and share it with people.  When we’re filled with God’s Spirit, we have something good inside of us, but other people won’t know unless we open up and share it.

A 4 oz. vacuum sealed bag of ground coffee – The bag of coffee is like a person and the grounds inside are the sins in our lives, but God can help us get rid of those sins.

I was impressed by the creativity of these kids.  Afterwards, I told my husband about the game, and he wanted to play too.  I brought in the paper bag, and he went through most of the items in the bag and gave his 2 cents worth.  He’s definitely preacher material.  :l0l:

9 thoughts on “Out of the mouths of babes

  1. I can just imagine what your husbands responses were. Bell had a great time and loved broomstick hockey. Great responses and so creative.

    You know my husband. Instant in season and out of season!Glad Bell had a good time too.

  2. Sissy: You always come up with such creative and cool ideas for Youth Alive and home schooling the kids. What a B.A.B.E.! I love you,
    Kiki

    Not always, Keek. I got this idea from a Sunday School website. Sometimes I feel dry as toast when it comes to creativity. I love you too!

    ‘lynnie

  3. Great idea! Have you ever used Debbie Foster’s books? They are really great to get more ideas for your youth group.

    I bought Debbie Foster’s books 2 years ago at Ladies’ Conference, and I have used the daylights out of them. They are great!

Leave a Reply

