Reminders From The Past

In looking over some older computer files, I came across some notes I had written down from a Ladies’ Conference I attended 6 years ago.  Some of the things I had written down I really needed to hear again at this present time in my life.  Most of us do not have a photographic memory, so it is easy to forget the things that we have learned in the past.  Sometimes we just need to be reminded again.  There is even a Scripture that alludes to this.

2Peter 1:12 Wherefore I will not be negligent to put you always in remembrance of these things, though ye know them, and be established in the present truth.

Here are some things that I am grateful to be reminded of once again.

I’ve learned that if we never had any problems, we’d never have any miracles. 

I’ve learned that there are 12 steps involved in making pottery and 8 of those steps involve pain.  God is our potter, and in order for Him to make us vessels fit for His use, we will experience some pain and suffering. 

I’ve learned that in living for God and with our relationships with others we need to avoid the 3C’s, which are comparing, competing and complaining.   

I’ve learned that there is power in asking God to bless those who may have offended us or done us wrong instead of trying to take vengeance on our own, for vengeance is the Lord’s. 

I’ve learned that we need to live for God because of who He is and not because of what He can give us.  God wants us to seek His PRESENCE, not his PRESENTS. 

I’ve learned that God never promised us that our friends or family would never forsake us.  He never promised our good health would not forsake us.  He never promised us our finances would not forsake us.  He never promised us our ministry or position would not forsake us, but He did promise us that HE would never forsake us.   

 

8 thoughts on “Reminders From The Past

  1. Great reminders. I remembered them after you named em. I have been going back to past Ladies Conferences as well. I am amazed that something that was spoken about 2, 3, 4 years or more ago still pertain today and they meet you where you are at.

    Thank God for Ladies of the Lord and for Him and His word.

    God Bless!

    I believe these thoughts are relevant because they are based on God’s Word, which is timeless. There is a lot of literature written hundreds and thousands of years ago that is not relevant to where we live today, but God’s Word will always be relevant! 🙂

  2. I love how when I find old notes sometimes it is like I am reading something written by another. Yet at other times it instantly connects me to my exact thoughts at that moment so long ago.

    Yeah. I know what you mean.

  3. Avoiding the three C’s !
    I will take that advice, thank you.
    And thank God that He is beyond comparison, does not make us compete for His love, and bears with our ridiculous complaints.

    Even though I know it is not a good thing, I sometimes catching myself falling into the “comparison trap” without realizing it. Thanks for your comments and for stopping by my blog.

  4. Carol, What a great post. I’ve never been to any of the conferences of which you speak, but I’ve heard all of this before also (except the 12 steps in creating pottery) and am grateful for your strong reminder of many ways we can learn to live peacably and creatively with one another, how we can lift each other up in encouragement and prayer rather than unfavorable comparison and jealousy. You are, indeed, a Godly woman. And may God bless you always.

    Thank you, Helen. I try to be a godly woman, but there are days I feel like I fall flat on my face. Thank God He is there to pick me back up and give me the courage to try again when that happens!

  5. I really appreciate your reminders, Carol. Wish I remembered that kind of thing BEFORE I over-reacted!

    The things that you write are always uplifting, Carol. Thank you for that.

    Thank you, Becky. I figure there are enough negative things in this world to weigh us down, so I try to focus on things that are positive.

  6. Great post. This made me think of the 3 C’s that help relationships. Consideration, Compassion, Consistency.

    Hi Jana. I like these positive 3 C’s. Thanks for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

