Happy Birthday Kiki!

sissies-at-christmas.jpg Carol, Mom and Kiki

Today is the birthday of my older sister, whom we lovingly call Kiki.  Her real name is Karen, but she received her nickname from my daughter who could not pronounce her name correctly when she was a baby.  I’m thankful God blessed me with two wonderful sisters, and today I want to give honor to my sister Kiki on her special day.  I’ve always looked up to Kiki, even when we were kids.  When we were younger, I always wanted to wear her cool clothes and hang out with her cool friends, much to her annoyance at times.  We have many memories of happy times and some scrapes we got into in our childhood.  Today, I admire her because she is a committed Christian, loving wife, wonderful mother, great Bible study teacher, gracious hostess, and most of all she is my friend.  We’ve always been able to talk very easily, and for that I am grateful.  Sis, I just want to say that I hope you have a wonderful birthday, and remember, I am younger than my beautiful sister!  Haw!!!

Here are some quotes I like concerning sisters.

A sister is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost.  ~Marion C. Garretty 

In thee my soul shall own combined the sister and the friend.  ~Catherine Killigrew 

More than Santa Claus, your sister knows when you’ve been bad and good.  ~Linda Sunshine 

Sisters are different flowers from the same garden.  ~Author Unknown 

There can be no situation in life in which the conversation of my dear sister will not administer some comfort to me.  ~Mary Montagu 

Sweet is the voice of a sister in the season of sorrow.  ~Benjamin Disraeli

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Kiki!

  1. Kiki is also a wonderful christian sister and she also has a wonderful sister as well. I love the quotes, especially the one about different flower from the same garden. Beautiful.

    Happy Birthday Sister Karen.

  2. Amen, and amen! Karen is all that and more! She is one of the “big sisters” I never had. It meant so much to me that she wrote to me when she knew that Tzeetz was serious about me. I felt so welcomed to the clan.

    The good Lord blessed me with 4 sisters-in-love, I always wished for!

    Now, if only we lived closer . . .

    Hippo Birdie two ewe, Kiki

  3. Thank you, dear Lynnie for your tribute. Glad you left out all the horror stories of how I treated you when we were kids. Thank God those are under the blood and forgotten! I love you dearly. I think the tables have turned, and you are the example to me now! someone I love I know loves me. Sister of mine as true as can be. Whenever I think of the happy days flown, remembering you always, sister my own!

Leave a Reply

