When Doubt Takes Wing

I refuse to listen to the voice

that speaks the words of fear and doubt

and tells me that I have no choice

but to be resigned, to live without.

Deaf are my ears to the scorn and scoff

that seek to echo through my mind

and tell me that my dreams are off

accusing God of being unkind.

For my heart hears the sound of another call

a blessed beckoning that’s forever true

of Jesus, my Savior, my all in all

O Lord of lords, my hope is in You.

When wrapped in Your love, how my soul does sing

and the things not of faith simply must take wing!

         written 1-29-07

2Corinthians 10:5  Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; 

 Philippians 4:8  Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.  

Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. 

 Philippians 4:13  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.  

5 thoughts on “When Doubt Takes Wing

  1. Carol, That is absolutely lovely.

    Thank you, Helen. It seems some poems I labor over, and others, God seems to just drop in my lap. This one was a drop in the lap.

Leave a Reply

