These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things….

at Christmastime that is.

candy-cane-lane-lg1.jpg

This is a very hard to find, but delightful tea.  I think I only have about 10 of the tea bags left, and I’m hoping that Santa Claus or some kind soul will put some in my Christmas stocking.

Luk 2:7-11 And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn. And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.  And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.  And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. (portion of the Christmas story)

I’ve read the Christmas story out of the Bible for many years, and I never grow tired of it.  Every time I read it the wonder of God robing Himself in flesh and coming to earth just fills me with awe! It’s still the greatest story ever told. 

christmas-carol.jpg

I love listening to Focus On The Family Radio Theatre’s version of A Christmas Carol.  I’ve heard several versions of this story, but this is by far the best.  The acting and sound effects are superb.

candy-cane-cookies.jpg

Candy Cane Cookies – I have a love/hate relationship with these cookies.  I really don’t enjoy making these, because it is time consuming twisting these into shape, and the dough is never easy to work with.(pardon the preposition on the end of this sentence) However, my family and I both really like the taste of these, so tonight, I made a batch of them.

I hope all who read this will take time to enjoy family, friends and some of your favorite things this Chrismas.

10 thoughts on “These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things….

  1. Hi Carol, If you like black tea, try my favorite Stash’s Christmas Morning. It makes a good, strong cup. Stash also makes a strong peppermint that my sister-in-law introduced me to. (see I’ve got a preposition in that great position, “utterance final,” too. 🙂 ) Toll House Cookies are my family’s favorite. They’d be happy if that was all I made, but I insist on a few other kinds. And we always watch a number of Christmas movies. My favorite is “The Preacher’s Wife” in which Denzel Washington plays an angel. And I’m down the stairs first every morning to light the tree. I love Christmas. We open our gifts Christmas Eve, often in the afternoon. Then, Christmas Day we’re off to Knoxville to see family. Merry Christmas.

  2. Maria, I hope you have a wonderful Christmas as well.

    Helen, I just might try some of that Stash’s Christmas Morning. I know I have seen it in stores around here. Hope you have a great time being with family in Knoxville.

    Kiki, I’ve been real good. If you don’t believe me, just ask Spousal Claus. This new blog theme is called Vermillion Christmas. I saw WordPress had it, and I really liked it. Glad you like it too.

  3. Mrs. Santa Keek’ll have to get you the tea. SantaTom tried AND FAILED! (LOL) I blame it on Raley’s here, though!

    Good favorite things. I plan to enjoy, among other things, family time. WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS??? (LOL)

  4. From the above comment, it looks like you’ll be getting your tea 🙂

    Thanks for the entry. I used to make Candy Cane Cookies with my mom and my sister and you’re right…the dough is a pain to work with, but the cookies sure are worth it!

    Merry Christmas!

  5. I’ve been delighted to explore through your blog, as I always enjoy making new friends, especially those who share the love of our Savior. Hope your New Year rains with blessings!

Leave a Reply

