My Pardon

As I read the historical account below, I couldn’t help but think of the gracious pardon I received over 25 years ago.  Mine was not from President Lincoln, but the King of Kings granted me forgiveness for my sinful rebellion when I came to him in true repentance.  What a wonderful gift to be truly forgiven!  It brings to mind an old chorus.

Sing, o sing,

of my Redeemer.

With His blood

He purchased me.

On the cross,

He sealed my pardon;

paid the debt

and set me free.

American Minute with Bill Federer

December 8

On this day, DECEMBER 8, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln announced
his plan to pardon those who had been in the Confederacy. He wrote:

“Whereas it is now desired by some persons heretofore engaged in
said rebellion to resume their allegiance to the United States…

Therefore, I, Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States, do
proclaim, declare, and make known to all persons who have, directly
or by implication, participated in the existing rebellion…that a
full pardon is hereby granted to them and each of them, with
restoration of all rights of property…upon the condition that every
such person shall take and subscribe an oath…to wit:

“I, ____ ____, do solemnly swear, in presence of Almighty God, that
I will henceforth faithfully support, protect, and defend the
Constitution of the United States and the Union of the States
thereunder, and that I will in like manner abide by and faithfully
support all acts of Congress passed during the existing rebellion
with reference to slaves…

and that I will in like manner abide by and faithfully support all
proclamations of the President made during the existing rebellion
having reference to slaves….

So help me God.”

6 thoughts on “My Pardon

Leave a Reply

