How Many Remember This Day?

American Minute with Bill Federer

November 22

Shots rang out as President John F. Kennedy was assassinated November
22, 1963, in Dallas, Texas. The youngest President ever elected was
also the youngest President to die, barely serving 1,000 days.

The 46-year-old Kennedy was on his way to the Dallas Trade Mart to
deliver a speech, in which he had prepared to say:

“We in this country, in this generation, are-by destiny rather than
choice-the watchmen on the walls of world freedom.

We ask, therefore, that we may be worthy of our power and
responsibility, that we may exercise our strength with wisdom and
restraint, and that we may achieve in our time and for all time the
ancient vision of peace on earth, goodwill toward men.

That must always be our goal-and the righteousness of our cause must
always underlie our strength. For as was written long ago, ‘Except the
Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.'”

Just three weeks after his Inauguration, February 9, 1961, President
Kennedy told a Breakfast for International Christian Leadership:

“Every President of the United States has placed special reliance
upon his faith in God…The guiding principle and prayer of this
Nation has been, is now, and shall ever be ‘In God We Trust.'”

7 thoughts on “How Many Remember This Day?

  1. I remember the date, because it’s my Dads (R.I.P.) birthday. He would have been 77 today. As for myself, I was in my wonderful Mummy’s tummy, baking nicely in preparation for December 5th!

  2. I was junior in high school. I was in Algebra when we heard he’d been shot and in Chemistry when we got word he had died. The casons on the television are what I remember most. It was sad then and has become sadder as the years go by.

  3. I don’t remember the exact day (I was only 2.5 yrs. old), but I remember the sad event being talked about later. It’s interesting that Kennedy was the youngest president elected but also the youngest to die. I like the guiding principle of our nation–IN GOD WE TRUST. O that all nations would remember the Lord and not forget HIM!

Leave a Reply

