Preach It!

The conference we attended in
Fresno was wonderful, and if I had just two words to say about what impacted me the most while I was there, I would have to say “solid preaching.”  The first minster who spoke, Rev. Kenny Godair, talked about how we need to have a preacher in our lives.  It doesn’t matter how old you are or what your position is in life(even if you’re a pastor), you need to have a preacher in your life. 
This is what the Bible says concerning preaching.

1Co 1:21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.

I am thankful that I have had the opportunity to sit under some great preachers.  I believe there are a lot of men out there who are still willing to preach Bible truth, even when it may be unpopular or not acceptable to our permissive society.  While I was musing about it, I wrote this poem. 

Preach it to me, preacher.

Let me hear that certain sound;

that my feet may walk uprightly,

and my soul be heaven bound.

Preach it to me, preacher.

Tell me what “thus saith the Lord.”

I want to fall in line with God’s people;

be of one mind, one accord.

Preach it to me, preacher,

and please, don’t spare the cross.

It’s the essence of my salvation,

and without it, I am lost.

Preach it to me, preacher,

even when you might step on my toes.

There are times when I need correction,

and of this, I know God knows.

Preach it to me, preacher,

for the enemy is out to deceive,

but God chose the foolishness of preaching

to save them that believe.

Preach it to me, preacher

for my spirit needs realigning;

to operate according to God’s will,

for this, my soul is pineing.

Preach it to me, preacher,

until the race is won,

and I’m face to face with Jesus.

My work on earth is done. 

5 thoughts on “Preach It!

  1. Carol,

    I’m glad you had a good trip! We used to live in the Fresno area. My husband’s parents still live in Clovis (just west of Fresno). It is not that pretty (IMO; compared to where we live now in the Pacific NW and where I grew up in Montana) but the people are wonderful. 🙂

    Love, Wardeh

Leave a Reply

