Pa’s Woodshed

pas-woodshed.jpg

Pa’s woodshed.  If you lived out in the country, it was a place where Pa stored the firewood, but this was not the only purpose of the shed.  I have heard some tell tales of Pa taking them out there when it was time to adminster the rod and reproof.  In other words, it was where you went for a spanking.  I recall several years ago after a time when I had corrected my son, he asked me why it was that adults never got spankings.  “Oh, I get spankings allright.” I countered, “It’s just a little different than the way you get them.”

Hebrews 12:6,7 states

For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.

If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not?

God has spanked me plenty of times with the “sting of conviction.”  It’s that voice inside my head that says, “You know your attitude wasn’t right today.” or “You shouldn’t have said those angry words.  They really hurt.”  At times, I have heard that voice while listening to preaching, and it is almost as if a big finger were pointing at me, and I know God is showing me something in my life that needs correction.  While it can be painful, I am so thankful that God does it, because I know it’s for my own good.  Did you notice it says in verse 6 that whom the Lord loves He chastens?  He never does it out of anger.  It is out of pure, genuine love.  The Bible tells me too, how I should respond to that love.

Rev 3:19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

May God help all of us when we feel that “sting of conviction” that comes from a loving God who has our best interest at heart, to have a response of repentance.

9 thoughts on “Pa’s Woodshed

  1. Hi Carol, I think it’s quite usual for children to think that adults do anything they please both in the physical and spiritual world. They don’t realize the unwritten rules of social and business behavior we follow, the problems we shield them from, nor the chastening of God. And thank heaven for the children who have a time of relative innocence to grow in before they meet with the demands of the world.

  2. I never knew that was what a watershed was. I thought perhaps it was a glorified outhouse similar to the water closets back in the olden days. I learned something new! Speaking of spanking, I don’t remember getting any when I was a kid. Either I was the perfect child or I got away with murder! I do remember Mom slapping me in the face in front of my friends when I was smart-mouthed to her. I sure deserved it. Never did that again! Jeremy told that whole church at his high school graduation speech how I broke 5 wooden spoons over his rear when he was a kid. Good article, Sissy.

  3. To writeathome (Pa’s Woodshed)

    As a Buddhist and a pacifist I find your comments both illogical and inflammatory.The reason the world is in such a mess today is that too many people consider violence to be an appropriate means of solving a problem.

    In many EU nations the physical reprimanding of children is now illegal and about time too!! Hitting a child only reinforces the notion that it is OK to bash someone if they displease you . They then grow into adults who believe warfare has more validity than diplomacy. It is also a well known fact that most violent criminals were bashed or abused in some way as children.

    Countries where corporeal punishment of children is widespread in the community have a much higher frequency of societal (criminal) violence and civil unrest. Just look at the middle east as one example!!

    I look forward to the day when everyone, families and politicians alike can learn to live together in peace and not resort to violence as a tool of social control. However, I fear it will not happen in my life time.

    Peace Loving Aussie

    Hi Leslie. I’m glad you stopped by my blog, but I’m sorry you found my post offensive and inflammatory. That certainly was not my intention in writing what I wrote. My intention was to show the Jesus Christ is a loving God who administers correction to us when we need if for our own good and because He loves us. I believe as parents that correction should be done in love as well. I agree with you that the world is in a mess today. It’s been in a miss ever since the garden of Eden when Adam and Eve disobeyed God, and we then have since inherited a sinful, human nature. It seems like you are associating spankings with violence, but I don’t see it being that way in accordance with the Bible.

    Pro 29:15 The rod and reproof give wisdom: but a child left to himself bringeth his mother to shame.
    According to this verse the rod(the spoon, paddle or instrument used for the spanking) and reproof(the reasoning or explanation to the child that should accompany the spanking) gives wisdom, not violence.

    There are other verses in the Bible I could point you to that speak of the value of correction(by appropriate spanking and instruction), but I will not go there for now.

    When I speak of spanking, I’m talking about age appropriate spanking on the buttocks. I don’t believe a child should ever be slapped across the face or hit to the point where they’re bleeding, have a broken limb, etc. That is the kind of thing that will produce the violence you speak of, but this is not the type of discipline and correction that the Bible teaches.

    I am not fond of war and fighting either, but I don’t believe it is a by product of children receiving spankings. This is the reason for wars and fightings according to the Bible.

    Jam 4:1 What causes quarrels and what causes fights among you? Is it not this, that your passions are at war within you?
    Jam 4:2 You desire and do not have, so you murder. You covet and cannot obtain, so you fight and quarrel. You do not have, because you do not ask.
    Jam 4:3 You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

    I too would like to see people living in peace, but it needs to start on the inside first. Anyhow, I hope what I have said makes sense, and thank you again for stopping by.

    Best regards,
    Carol

  4. Spanking in general, and over-the-knee, bare bottom spanking in particular, is as pure an act of corrective education as there is. It’s only the holier-than-thou advocates of woefully misguided permissiveness who insist on misrepresenting spanking as “hitting” and “abuse.”

    I grew up in an era when child spanking was simply what it meant to be young and subject to parental/adult authority. In my own case, I was only ever threatened with being spanked. Even in several instances where I clearly deserved to have my bottom warmed (being rude to my mother on the phone; stealing money from my sisters’ coat pockets; playing dangerously with matches and fire), no spanking. I was punished instead with the withdrawal of affection; made to feel bad as a person rather than for something I’d done.

    As a result, I don’t believe I ever properly learned the critical developmental lesson of Actions & Consequences. Instead of being able to directly relate my soundly spanked bottom, my tears and my shame to some indefensible and unwise act of misbehaviour, I sort of wandered in a fog of uncertainty.

    My mother admitted in recent years that she would indeed spank me if she had it to do over again. Common sense argues that a child’s safely spankable bottom can be an invaluable teaching aid. Sadly, common sense is anathema to the the New Age ideologues in our schools and out courts, claiming to serve our children’s best interests. As ye sow…

    Hi Rennie. Thanks for taking the time to comment on this post. I agree that liberals have blown spanking out of proportion and made spanking into child abuse. When it is administered according to Scripture, it is a loving form of correction that will help a child. Better to spank and correct than to just leave a child to his own devices, which is something it seems I see a lot of parents doing.

    Proverbs 29:15 The rod and reproof give wisdom: but a child left to himself bringeth his mother to shame.

    Thanks again for stopping by. 🙂

  5. Hi Again Carol,

    *Pro 29:15 The rod and reproof give wisdom: but a child left to himself bringeth his mother to shame.
    According to this verse the rod(the spoon, paddle or instrument used for the spanking) and reproof(the reasoning or explanation to the child that should accompany the spanking) gives wisdom, not violence.*

    I have to say that I believe that profoundly. It may have fallen out of fashion, but it used to be generally understood that children need limits to their behaviour. And when they go beyond those limits, there need to be consequences by way of teaching them an invaluable lesson – not just for their juvenile years, but for life.

    My mother was a school teacher. She phoned home late one afternoon when I was somewhere around ten years old. I’ve long since forgotten what she wanted, but I didn’t hesitate to let her know she was interrupting one of my favourite TV shows. When she came through the front door a little later on and saw me (likely still parked in front of the set), the very first words out of her mouth were an angry “For two cents, I’d spank you!”

    I knew I’d been rude and was already sorry for it. And we both knew I deserved a good spanking, even if that meant being put over her knee with my pants pulled down. But all I got was her annoyance and her disappointment in me, making me the issue rather than what I’d done. A bare bottom spanking would’ve shown me the error of my ways, making it crystal clear that such rudeness wouldn’t be tolerated. But instead, I was left with a diminished ability to anticipate the possible results (especially the bad ones) of a certain action or choice.

    I knew what a spanking was from the outside looking in, and I knew it was meant to be serious punishment. Those times when I was verbally threatened with it, I was afraid for my bottom. But to never have it actually happen left me increasingly frustrated – “a child left to himself.”

Leave a Reply

