When Death Doesn’t Seem Fair

I first met Vivien Reyes about 2 years ago.  Her and her husband were running the “Snack Shack” at the same Jr. Camp where I was a counselor.  Their 2 oldest daughters were in my cabin, and they really were a delight.  Both of them had such sweet spirits, and it was evident through their speech, the way the conducted themselves, their worship during services and how they treated others that they really loved the Lord.  Their parents had certainly done a wonderful job of instilling Christian virtues in them.  Yesterday, Vivien Reyes, this fantastic wife, mother and pastor’s wife, passed away after a long battle with cancer.  In one sense, it seems so unfair.  I think of her husband and her young daughters, the youngest, I believe, being only five years old.  Then of course, there is the church, which I’m sure will dearly miss their pastor’s wife.  From a very human standpoint, it’s easy to cry out, “God, why did you take her now?  Can’t you see how much she is still needed here on earth?” The truth of the matter is, there is another perspective besides our human, mortal look at things.  There is God’s viewpoint.

The Scripture says in Psalm 116:15, “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.” 

What we look upon as a loss down here on earth, God is counting as a great gain!  One of His children, whom He never intended to live forever in this sin cursed world, has come home to a place where there will be no more sorrow, tears, crying and pain, and best of all, there is constant, unbroken fellowship with the Lord.  Often, we prayed for our dear Sister Reyes to be healed of cancer, and today she is healed.  While I know her passing is hard on family and friends, it is only a temporary separation to those of them that are living for Jesus.  It is an ending in one sense, but a beginning in another.  I pray that Vivien Reyes’ family and friends will find comfort in the fact that they do have a hope of seeing her again, and that that hope will give them strength to face the days ahead.

6 thoughts on “When Death Doesn’t Seem Fair

  1. Several years ago my nephew died from Muscular Dystrophy. At the time, I was so puzzled at about all of this. My brother, the father of this boy who died, became bitter and is totally turned away from the God in the Bible (he says he believe in a god, but not the bible)… it breaks my heart. Rather than become bitter about the death of my nephew, I have tried harder to understand why God allows evil like this in the world. Thank you for sharing this. Mike

  2. For the Christian, death involves merely a change of residence. Today, indeed, she is healed. Her family, however, may have a hard time in her absence. May God grant them His peace.

  3. Mike,

    I know it’s difficult to lose a loved one. When that happens, we have basically 2 choices. We can allow it to make us bitter(by blaming God and turning away from Him)or better(by looking to God and allowing Him to carry us through the grief and maybe see things through His perspective). It sounds like you have made the right choice. Through prayer(which you’re probably already doing)I believe God probably has and will continue to work on the heart of your brother. I will pray for him too, and thanks for visiting my site.

    Carol

    Helen,

    Well said and true about change of residence. Thank you for your comment.

  4. Carol, I wish I had know Vivien better. She sounds like such a wonderful person. Her sister-in-law, Christina attends our church and has told me some wonderful things about her. You are blessed to have known her.
    Ronda

  5. Hello,

    I’m relatively new to wordpress, and I’m blog hopping and checking out all of these wonderful blogs!

    I’m trying to generate some views, so If you can, come by and take a visit to my blog. I enjoy piano, golf, life,family and composition.

    Regards, God Bless and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

