Along The Trail

snowy-egret.jpg

In an effort to kill two birds with one stone(I needed exercise. My son needed P.E.), Paul and I decided to take a bikeride along a trail that is close to our home.  It’s been a long time since I’ve ridden down this particular trail, and I forgot how peaceful and enjoyable it can be.  One of my favorite things about this bike trail is that it runs along a creek, and on many occasions, we have seen egrets in or near the creek.  Today was no exception, and as we were heading toward home, we saw 2 beautiful egrets.  Each time we would get closer to them, they would fly farther up the trail.  Finally both of them flew and landed in a tree in a field across from the creek.  I wished so badly that I had a camera, because it was one of those “Kodak moments.”  The two birds sat majestically perched in the tree for a few minutes, and then they gracefully took to the air.  It just made me appreciative of God’s beautiful creation.  He certainly is a God of variety, giving us so many beautiful plants, trees, flowers, birds and all of nature to enjoy.  I’m thankful I had some time today to admire His handiwork.

4 thoughts on “Along The Trail

  1. I may just get on my bike at the weekend! We have a lovely Riverside Walk nearby which is also suitable for bikes. Hope the weather keeps up!

  2. Hi, Carol. I enjoyed reading about your bike ride with your son. We love to admire God’s handiwork, too.

    You have a great blog. I’ll visit again.

    Love, Wardeh

  3. The hubby and I have been biking recently, and I would have to agree. It’s a wonderful way to admire God’s handiwork. And it’s oh-so-much easier on the feet! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

