Carol’s Commentary and Chorus of Campmeeting

My family and I had a wonderful time at our Western District Campmeeting in Santa Maria, California.  I know that Shirley Buxton and Tena Valenti have already wrote about this blessed event on their blogs, but I wanted to share some about campmeeting too, from my crazy perspective.  Like many that go to campmeeting, we stayed right on the fairgrounds in a rented RV for the week.  To sum up how I feel about campmeeting, I’ve written a parody to the tune “My Favorite Things”. (This song comes from the musical, The Sound of Music.) If you know the song, you could have yourself a little sing along if you are inclined to do such things.  🙂

Campmeeting, (sung to the tune of My Favorite Things) 

Inside the big tent with no pomp, no steeple,

Worshipping gladly with God’s precious people.

As in His presence, we shout and we sing,

These are a few of my favorite things.

 

Hearing anointed and powerful teaching

Blessed by the wonderful, Spirit filled preaching


Santa Maria weather, it feels like spring

These are a few of my favorite things.

 

Books, food and garb upon which I spend money

Preachers that crack jokes, just so downright funny

As around the campfire, their humor they bring

These are a few of my favorite things.

 

Fellowship, friendship unlike any other

Greeting each person as sister or brother

God’s Word is the anchor, to which we do cling

These are a few of my favorite things.

 

Chorus

When the black tank’s being emptied

And it’s smelling bad

I simply remember my favorite things

And then I don’t feel so sad!

5 thoughts on “Carol’s Commentary and Chorus of Campmeeting

  1. Carol! What a wonderful song! I LOVED it! Glad you had a wonderful time! God bless your day.

    P.S. Your daughter is a delightful girl.

  2. Where do you come up with this stuff. I really liked the song. Have a great day.

    Luv U

    PS–Sound of Music is one of my favorite and so is “These are a few of my favorite things”

    Awesome

  3. One of my favorite things is being with my sissy. I just love your sense of humor in song. What a wonderful, sensitive, gifted, amazing sister I have. Okay I’ll stop patronizing you now!

    Love,
    Kiki

Leave a Reply

