Yosemite yearning

yosemite.jpg

Tomorrow, we’ll be embarking on a trip to one of my favorite places in this great country of ours…………………Yosemite National Park.  We haven’t been to the park since both kids were very small, and since my husband’s cousin is visiting from New York City and has never been to Yosemite, we knew this would be the perfect opportunity to go.  I have many wonderful memories of Yosemite.  I remember approximately 15 years ago, when I was about 4 months pregnant, my husband climbed Half Dome with my brother-in-law and 9 year old nephew.  It took them all day, and when they returned sometime after 9 p.m., my husband looked like a slow moving, bowl-legged John Wayne.  He was so tired and sore, and it took him the whole next day to recuperate, but he was glad he had made the trek.  On that same trip, I thought I would try bike riding, because I had done it before, and it is such a peaceful place to bikeride.  After about 1/4 mile, I felt like I was going to die.  It was just too hard to do being pregnant, but later, I did manage a short hike to Sentinel Dome.  Anyhow, it is a wonderful place to visit, and I’m looking forward to enjoying God’s beautiful creation and seeing the wonder in my cousin-in-law as she sees this glorious place for the first time.

10 thoughts on “Yosemite yearning

  1. I hope you have a great time. My husband and I went to Yosemite and up the CA coast on our 25th anniversary trip, and it was awesome. You can certainly see the hand of the Artist at work!

  2. Hello Carol,
    thank you for coming for a visit, I hope you will continue to enjoy what I post. Your comment was such a blessing to me, so thank you, again. It is Spanish Moss hangin form the trees, and I think it is so elegant (as far as plants go) and makes for a lovely picture.
    It is so wonderful that you are going to Yosemite; I’ve been once before and really hope to travel there again. It is a lovely place and such a testimony to God’s glory, power, and majesty. It is so amazing how God’s hand is shown through his creation.
    In Christ,
    Mary

  3. Oh, I wish I was going! Stay safe and have fun!
    Will you just go directly to Camp Meeting afterwards or go home inbetween?
    God bless you!
    Love,
    Tena

  4. Are you bringing the new addition with you up to Glacier Point?

    I bet it would be awesome. Even without a telescope it is the most amazing thing to see. My kids still remember how the stars literally lit up the sky. The stars were so bright we didn’t even need our flashlights.

    Have fun and watch out for the bears.

    Love,

    me

  5. yosemite: one of those places that even God looks at, and folds His arms and smiles and says” yes, that is cool, I did a good job there!”

    please come see my southern calif mountain blog – look for a “good day in the woods” video link
    here from jayleigh’s

Leave a Reply

