The Matchmaker

Matchmaker

Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed seeing Fiddler on the Roof at Music Circus in Sacramento.  All of the actors/actresses did a great job, and seeing this play has filled my mind with so many “post possibilities” for this blog.  This pictures isn’t actually from the play I saw, but I found it on Google images, and it represents the scence where Tevye’s daughters are dreaming of the matchmaker finding just the right man for them.  While musing on this scene, I thought back to the time when a friend of ours tried to play matchmaker for me.  I was 15 years old, and this friend of ours wanted to fix me up with his best friend, whom he assured me, was a very nice guy.  So my oldest sister and I went out with our friend and his friend(my one and only blind date).  J and I did end up seeing each other quite a bit after that, but when God came into my life, He let me know that this relationship with J would not be pleasing to Him, so I broke off the relationship.  My senior year of highschool I met a young man from another church in our section who was a very nice fellow.  We became good friends and talked quite a bit on the phone.  After highschool, I went to a Christian college in St. Paul, Mn., and this young man and I continued our friendship long distance.  Although I admired his walk with God and thought he was a great guy, I was never really in love with him.  I did wonder though, if maybe we would have a future together.  He came up to see me on graduation weekend of my first year of college.  We had a great time seeing the school dramas and going to the graduation together, and then, when it was all over, he told me that he just wanted us to be friends.  I was hurt at first and disappointed, but I prayed and asked the Lord to help me make it through this time.  I remember wondering if I was ever going to get married, even though I was only 18 at the time.  I wondered what the next school year would hold for me.  Would I meet someone else?  One of my favorite Scriptures is found in Proverbs.

Pro 3:5 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

Pro 3:6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

I realized that I really needed to give this area of my life over to God.  I remember finding a place where I could be alone and just pouring my heart out to God.  I asked for His will to be done in my life concerning who He would have me to marry and the grace to be content being single, if that is what He wanted for me.  I prayed for quite a while until I knew that I had completely given it over to Him.  Do you know what happened?  That next school year, I met my husband. Now mind you, I did not pray for a husband.  I told God that if it was His will for me to get married to send the right man, but if not, help me be content to be single.  God let me know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that this was the man He had for me.  I’m glad I gave it over to God, and He became my matchmaker.  So, if anyone out there is ever wrestling with thoughts of marriage and your future, I encourage you to give it over to God.  You can’t go wrong trusting God with this all important decision. 

10 thoughts on “The Matchmaker

  1. I think it was live music….people playing it. It’s really cooooool… I guess there’s a lot of plays at the wells fargo theatre place in Sacramento.

  2. LOL I know what the city is, I live about an hour from there. I think it would be so cool to meet you, and Helen…Someday I think I might…

Leave a Reply

