Papa’s Got A Brand New Toy

telescope

Recently, we had a new addition to our family.  Fortunately, for me, it didn’t come via the stork. (I’m very happy and content with the 2 children with which God has blessed me!) This “addition” came to us straight from the Discovery Channel Store.  It is a Meade ETX90 telescope.  My husband had had his eye on it for a few weeks, and he finally took the plunge and made the purchase.  For a low-tech lady like me, this telescope is very advanced.  It has something called Autostar, which is a remote control device that can automatically move the telescope to any of 30,000 objects stored in the database.  When my daughter and I came home from her piano lesson Tuesday night, my husband was out in the front yard with the telescope.  He let me take a peek at what he was viewing, and I saw Jupiter and several of her moons.  It was pretty neat.  I’ve always found learning about the planets and stars to be interesting.  I thought it was fascinating as a kid, but after my salvation experience with Jesus, it took on an even greater dimension.  I remember one night when we were staying up near Mt. Lassen and a group of us were out in the parking lot just looking up at the sky, which was loaded with starts.  I was thinking to myself, “Wow, I know the God that made all of this!”

The Bible says in Psalm 19

Psa 19:1 <To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.> The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.

Psa 19:2 Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge.

Psa 19:3 There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard.

I believe if a person never even cracked open the Bible, they could know that there is a God just by looking at the sky and the beauty of nature that is all around us.  It is like a visual, unspoken witness that cries out in every language, “Yes, there is a God!” I hope that as we use “Papa’s new toy”, it will help me gain an even greater appreciation for my awesome Saviour and Creator! 

8 thoughts on “Papa’s Got A Brand New Toy

  1. I’ve never had a telescope. I sounds wonderful. And “a visual, unspoken witness that cries out in every language.” Now there’s the last line of a poem, if ever I heard one!

  2. I don’t know how to do that and give you credit. And I won’t just pass it off as my own. I could start with the quote and go from there, okay? Wait a minute. You don’t have to give me permission to do that. 🙂

  3. Carol, I visited your Costa Rica trip entries today. Now I know what you look like so I can find you easier at Camp Meeting!
    See you there!

Leave a Reply

