The Rescuer

jesus-with-peter-on-water.jpg

I love this picture, because it illustrates how I have felt many times in my life.  I really do try to keep my eyes on Jesus, but sometimes when the unexpected happens or circumstances seem overwhelming, I have found that often without realizing it, I start to take my eyes off Him.  This only leads to those sinking feelings of despair, helplessness, hopelessness and depression.  I wish I could say that I always have perfect faith and trust in God, but the truth is that that is not always the case.  However, I have found that when I do finally came to the place where I cry out to Him, He has never failed to reach out to me and lift me up.  One of my favorite Scriptures is I Peter 5:7,

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”I’m thankful that the Lord is my Keeper!

6 thoughts on “The Rescuer

  1. “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”I’m thankful that the Lord is my Keeper!

    that part i really didnt understand even though i am jewish can u explain it to me

  2. Hi Daniel,

    What this verse if talking about is taking our worries, fears, anxieties or anything that causes us concern and turning it over to Jesus by praying to Him and leaving it all with Him. He cares so much about us that He wants to help us with our problems. I really believe that sometimes God allows difficult and overwhelming problems to come into our lives so we will realize how much we need Him and learn to lean upon Him and not our own strength. I can say that the Lord is my Keeper, because when I bring my troubles to Him, He keeps me from being overwhelmed by the problems and cares of life.

    Does this make sense? I did not know you were Jewish. Is there a temple in your area that you go to?

  3. Helen,

    I’ve been familiar with this chorus for a long time, but didn’t realize there were verses too. Thanks for sharing.

    Carol

Leave a Reply

