American Minute – Fourth of July

I received this e-mail concerning some of the history of the 4th of July and thought I would share.  I’m thankful for the men and women that fought to give us our freedom.

American Minute with Bill Federer
July 4

The Declaration of Independence was approved this day, July 4, 1776. John
Hancock signed first, saying “the price on my head has just
doubled.”
Benjamin Franklin signed saying “We must hang together or most assuredly
we shall hang separately.”
Of the fifty-six signers: 17 lost their fortunes, 12 had their homes destroyed,
9 died during the war, 5 became prisoners of war, 1 had two sons imprisoned on
the British starving ship Jersey and 1 lost his son in the War.
As Samuel Adams signed, he said:
“We have this day restored the Sovereign to whom all men ought to be
obedient. He reigns in heaven and from the rising to the setting of the sun, let
His kingdom come.”
John Adams wrote of the day:
“I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations
as the great anniversary Festival. It ought to be commemorated, as the Day of
Deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty…
I am well aware of the toil and blood and treasure that it will cost to
maintain this Declaration…Yet through all the gloom I can see the rays of
ravishing light and glory…
Posterity will triumph in that day’s transaction, even though we may regret it,
which I trust in God we shall not.”
___

6 thoughts on “American Minute – Fourth of July

  1. I love this! Thank you for posting it. I’m going to read it to my boys.
    God help us to never forget the sacrifice men made for us to live the way we do in this blessed country.
    GOD BLESS AMERICA!

Leave a Reply

