Noteable Birthday

In addition to being the wedding anniversary for Shirley Buxton and Helen Losse, today also happens to be the birthdate of Helen Keller, who is to me, one of the most inspiring women in history.  I received this e-mail about her from American Minute and wanted to share it.

American Minute with Bill Federer
June 27

Helen Keller was born June 27, 1880. At the age of two she suffered an illness
that left her both blind and deaf.
Her parents took her to Dr. Alexander Graham Bell who recommended the Perkins
Institute for the Blind in Boston.
There, at age of 7, Anne Sullivan began tutoring her through the sense of
touch, eventually teaching her to read Braille.
Helen attended Radcliffe College, where Anne Sullivan interpreted lectures.
She learned to type on a Braille typewriter.
Helen Keller became concerned about the conditions of blind, especially those
blinded in World War II.
She recieved numerous international honors for her efforts.
She wrote many books between 1903-41: The Story of My Life, Optimism, The World
I Live In, The Song of the Stone Wall, Out of the Dark, My Religion, Midstream,
Let Us Have Faith, and The Open Door.
Helen Keller stated:
“The Bible is one mighty representative of the whole spiritual life of
humanity,”
“I thank God for my handicaps, for, through them, I have found myself, my
work, and my God,”
“Four things to learn in life: To think clearly without hurry…To love
everybody sincerely…To act in everything with the highest motives…To trust
God unhesitatingly.”
___

5 thoughts on “Noteable Birthday

  1. Hi Daniel,

    Remember when you wrote about determination on your blog? To me Helen Keller is a great example of someone who had determination, even though she couldn’t see, hear, and speak.(of course, she was able to learn how to speak)

    Carol

Leave a Reply

