Love You Forever

Love You Forever

 Earlier today I went to the bank and then drove down further in our little shopping plaza to the dry cleaners to drop off my son's suit.  As I was leaving the dry cleaners, I contemplated stopping in at Goodwill, which is just a few doors down from the cleaners.  "I'll just go in for a quick minute and look at their books," I thought to myself.  In the past, I've picked up books there that I thought would be useful in our homeschool. The first book I laid eyes on was a book that I read to my kids many years ago called Love You Forever.  I turned the book over and saw that it was only .69, so I knew I would be making at least one purchase.  This book has great sentimental value to me, because it speaks of a legacy that I want to pass on to my children.  It is a legacy of love.  Love You Forever is the story of a mother raising a son through all the various stages of growing up.  When her son was first born, you see a picture of the mother gently rocking her son and saying these 4 lines.

"I'll love you forever.

I'll like you for always.

As long as I'm living,

my baby you'll be."

The book takes you through stages of this boy's life as he is growing up(toddler, 9 year old, teenager and even as a young man) with the mother always coming back to rock her son while saying this 4 line refrain.  Near the end of the book, the mother calls her son and asks him to please come and visit her for she is old and sick.  The son goes to his mom's house, carries her out of the bed, begins to rock her, and says,

"I'll love you forever.

I'll like you for always.

As long as you're living,

my mommy you'll be."

Finally, on the last page of the book, you see the grown son, holding his new baby daughter as he begins to say the 4 line refrain that his mom always said to him. 

 I cannot think of a single time in my life where I have ever doubted the love of my mother.  My mom told me and still tells me and all of her children that she loves us.  Not only did she say it, but she backed up her words with so many selfless acts to prove it as well.  This is the kind of legacy I want to pass on to my children.  I pray that my children will never doubt that I love them, but that it would show through not only in my words, but in my deeds.  Most importantly though, I never want them to doubt that God loves them.  He declares it over and over again in His Word, and my children have been told it, experienced it   and have read it for themselves.  His love is so much greater than mine could ever be, because He laid down His life to prove it.  So Jen and Paul, if you ever happen to read this, don't ever forget that Jesus loves you.  He loves you forever. 

10 thoughts on “Love You Forever

  1. I read this book about 20 years ago when I was in the waiting room of my children’s pediatrician. I have never forgotten about this book and how it has touched me. I remember crying when I first read it and for some reason thought about this book recently. I couldn’t remember the name of the book and now by searching on the internet you have enlighten me. I have two daughters that are 26 and 21 and I can’t wait to give them this book. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to give this book to them.

  2. When my son started pre-school in Australia in 1995, I was helping with reading to the children, when this book found its way into my hands. I was in a new country (I’m British), quite lonely in a small country town without my friends and family, and I had to go out, because I found this book so evocative and sad. My son is now fifteen and is going through an ‘I hate my mum’ stage but I would love to get a copy of this wonderful book. It sums up how easy it is to forget how important it is for families to respect and love one another! I love both my children very much, but this book represents how I feel about my beautiful son.

    PS. We say ‘mum’ in Australia and England, but never mind!

  3. Hello Dawn,

    I have never heard anything about Love You Forever being recorded in a song. It would be neat if someone decided to do it. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Carol

  4. Hi: What about the Detroit group THE HOLIDAYS
    who recorded “I’ll Love You Forever” for Golden
    World in the mid 60s?

    Hello, Lou. I’m not familiar with the Holidays and their recording I’ll Love You Forever. Does it follow the same storyline as the book? Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing this information.

  5. i used to read that book to my now 18 year old daughter and cried everytime,she is moving out this weekend and i would love to give her that book and i cant find it. i remember she would always say the ill love you forever part every time. i thought i still had it but i dont. do u know where i can get a copy?

    Hi Tracy. I have seen the book at Barnes and Noble. It was in the children’s section. Have you tried looking there?

  6. I have a 6yo handicap child that I adopted. He does not talk or walk as of yet,he is 3 and half ft tall,I am 5 ft 2in so he is almost as tall as me. that doesn’t stop me everynite I pick him up and hold him until he falls asleep in my arms,and everynite it makes me think of this story. I first read this story to my first born daughter who is now 30 has a 5yo daughter of her own and another baby on the way,she to reads it. Its a story that has touched many lives!

Leave a Reply

