Grand Psalm Breakfast

I don't know what made me think of this.  I guess it was either God or Denny's or both.  This week, we have been having what I call a "Grand Psalm Breakfast."  It's really pretty simple.  I fix the kids what they want for breakfast, and then, while they're shoveling in the food, I read a psalm to them.  We might talk about it a little afterwards or if there are words they do not understand, they will ask me about them.  I think the book of Psalms is a grand book.  There is so much in there that can enhance anybody's walk with God.  I enjoy reading the prayers, the praises, the triumphs, the accounts of failures, yet the mercies of God in spite of the failures, etc. etc.  Most of these were written by David, whom the Bible calls in one place, "a man after God's own heart."  David is amazing to me, because even though he was a man that loved God so profoundly , he also sinned so greatly when he committed adultery with Bathsheba and then had her husband killed to cover it up.  However, when he was confronted with his sin, he also repented so deeply, and we have his record of repentance in Psalm 51.  Maybe that's why he was called a man after God's own heart. 

Anyhow, these are just some of my musings on the book of Psalms.  Grand Psalm Breakfast – feed your body and your spirit at the same time.

7 thoughts on “Grand Psalm Breakfast

  1. I love the Grand Psalm Breakfast feast for body and soul! I was so glad when I discovered that reading to my kids worked best when their mouths were full of food. I will have to serve up some Psalms for my family!

  2. I drooled a little, spiritually and otherwise, when I read about your Grand Psalm Breakfast special. Bet that goes great with the Gospel Brunch.

Leave a Reply

