RSS

My Favorite “Mother” Poem

09 May

To Mother
You painted no Madonnas
On chapel walls in Rome,
But with a touch diviner
You lived one in your home.

You wrote no lofty poems
That critics counted art,
But with a nobler vision
You lived them in your heart.

You carved no shapeless marble
To some high-souled design,
But with a finer sculpture
You shaped this soul of mine.

You built no great cathedrals
That centuries applaud,
But with a grace exquisite
Your life cathedraled God.

Had I the gift of Raphael,
Or Michelangelo,
Oh, what a rare Madonna
My mother’s life would show!
–Thomas W. Fessenden

 

2 responses to “My Favorite “Mother” Poem

  1. heartwhispers (Pam)

    March 26, 2014 at 11:18 pm

    Carol,

    Was thinking of you the other day and hoping all is well? Miss reading your blog posts. I’ve kind of slowed on posting in my blog too. But wanted you to know I’m praying for you and your family and church.

    Pam

     
    • writeathome

      May 8, 2014 at 4:53 pm

      Hi Pam,
      As you can see, it’s taken me a while to respond to your comment. I have not been on my blog in ages just due to the busyness of life, only having so much time and having to decide what things are a priority. Thus blogging has fallen by the wayside. I do appreciate your prayers though, and hopefully, I will be by soon to check on your blog and see how you’re doing in your neck of the woods. Thank you for stopping by!

      Blessings always,
      Carol

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

