Breaking Bread Together

I was looking through some files and found this recipe, which I think is a great idea. I wish all my family and friends a wonderful, blessed Thanksgiving. 

One of my favorite Thanksgiving traditions is “Breaking Bread Together.”  Thanks to Family Fun Magazine . . . we have shared a simply meaningful tradition for several years.

 

You need:

  • Several Cans of (Pilsbury) Cresent Rolls
  • 1/2″ Strips of Paper cut from Index Cards
  • Pencils

 

Have each Thanksgiving guest write down on the strip of paper what they are thankful for this year and sign their name.

 

Have the guests roll their paper into a cresent roll and place on the pan to bake.

 

Bake the rolls as directed . . . watching so any paper sticking out the ends doesn’t burn.  (Hint: Baking stones work wonderfully and prevent burning)

 

Place the rolls in a basket lined with a linen towel.

 

At the beginning of the Thanksgiving meal, pass the rolls around and have everyone take one, break open and share with everyone what the other person has to be thankful for.

 

Most often, the strip of paper isn’t big enough to hold all our Thankfulness!

 

6 thoughts on “Breaking Bread Together

  1. This is the 1st year in a long, long time that we have decided to stay home and cook. Just the three of us. My school schedule is not allowing us to make it home for the holidays and I think we will start our own family traditions. This is a great one to start with! Thanks!

  2. What a great idea. Hope your oven was on time and that you have great holiday.

    Hi Helen. Yes, the oven has been successfully installed. It was quite a fiasco getting the old oven out. I was holding onto my husband’s legs as he dangled over the counter and down into the small space behind the oven, trying to unhook the gas line. I should have had my camera. LOL

  3. This is a great idea. We should try this next Thanksgiving, although it could really be done any time of year. We should be thankful all year long. Good idea!

Leave a comment