RSS

Give Honor To Whom Honor Is Due

08 Oct

In my opinion, there is no such thing as a “self-made” man or woman.  Anybody who is considered successful(however you define success) didn’t get that way completely on his or her own.  Whether we acknowledge it or not, there were people along the way that helped that successful person get to where they are at today.  As far as Christianity goes, I don’t know if I would consider myself a success,(actually, like the song says, “I’ve Got A Long Way To Go To Be Like The Lord) but I can look back and see that I have grown since my salvation experience back in 1979.  I really believe a large part of that is due to the pastors that have been a part of my life.  Since October has been designated as Pastor Appreciation Month, I wanted to express some appreciation to the three pastors I feel have helped me most in my relationship with God.  I will be doing this in my next 3 posts.  For now, I close with some Scriptures that deal with the role of a pastor. 

  Jeremiah 3:15 (AMP)  And I will give you [spiritual] shepherds after My own heart [in the final time], who will feed you with knowledge and understanding and judgment.  

  Ephesians 4:11  And His gifts were [varied; He Himself appointed and gave men to us] some to be apostles (special messengers), some prophets (inspired preachers and expounders), some evangelists (preachers of the Gospel, traveling missionaries), some pastors (shepherds of His flock) and teachers. Ephesians 4:12  His intention was the perfecting and the full equipping of the saints (His consecrated people), [that they should do] the work of ministering toward building up Christ’s body (the church),  

 Hebrews 13:17  Obey your spiritual leaders and submit to them [continually recognizing their authority over you], for they are constantly keeping watch over your souls and guarding your spiritual welfare, as men who will have to render an account [of their trust]. [Do your part to] let them do this with gladness and not with sighing and groaning, for that would not be profitable to you [either].  

 Next post : The Foundational Pastor

 

10 responses to “Give Honor To Whom Honor Is Due

  1. kikikaria

    October 11, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Good idea Sis! We’ve been blessed with some good men of God in our lives! God is awesome!

    Yes, I am thankful to have sat under some holy men of God.

     
  2. arm5

    October 13, 2007 at 4:54 am

    I have been so blessed over the last ten years or so to have a great man of God in my life which is Bro.Brown.

    Hi April. I’m glad you feel this way about your pastor. It’s certainly a blessing to have a godly man that is watching out for your soul. Thanks for stopping by.

     
  3. DulceDiana

    October 19, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Yes, excellent idea. God created us to be a body, not an island. We can honor the Lord when we honor those in the body!

     
  4. Braunell Richey

    February 17, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I have been searching for the words to the song you’ve mentioned here. “I’ve got a long way to go to be like the
    Lord…
    I had thought that Mehalia Jackson had recorded it, but
    can’t locate it.
    Also thought Doris Akers may have sung it.
    If you could help, I would appreciate it greatly.

    Sincere regards,
    Braunell Richey – Oklahoma City, OK

     
  5. Vicki DeArmey

    July 17, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    The fact that part of this quote is taken from scripture and if you read it to the end I understand that it is only God to whom honor is due. I agree that there were many mature Christians that helped me in my Christian walk and I hope that in my aging years I will do the same for someone else. I just have a problem with what I feel the meaning of “honor” in this context means. I just received an invitation to write something about a man who was a professor and in administration for 50 yrs. and is retiring. I have no problem sharing some things he passed onto me. But on the outside of the invitation was written “To Whom Honor is Due….”. For some reason this bothers me and if I am over exaggerating please let me know what you think.

    Hi Vicki,

    I’m going to take some time here and try to answer your question. First of all, the Scripture that mentions giving honour to whom honour is due is found here.

    Rom 13:1 Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God.
    Rom 13:2 Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment.
    Rom 13:3 For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive his approval,
    Rom 13:4 for he is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword in vain. For he is the servant of God, an avenger who carries out God’s wrath on the wrongdoer.
    Rom 13:5 Therefore one must be in subjection, not only to avoid God’s wrath but also for the sake of conscience.
    Rom 13:6 For the same reason you also pay taxes, for the authorities are ministers of God, attending to this very thing.
    Rom 13:7 Pay to all what is owed to them: taxes to whom taxes are owed, revenue to whom revenue is owed, respect to whom respect is owed, honor to whom honor is owed.

    The verse that mentions specifically about honour is verse 7, but I have listed the verses before this to show the context in which it was written. I believe from the verses above that it is talking about giving honour to those whom God has placed in authority. I looked up the word “honour” used in this verse in the Strong’s Concordance, and it denotes value, esteem or dignity.

    Also, take a look at I Timothy 5:17

    1Ti 5:17 Let the elders that rule well be counted worthy of double honour, especially they who labour in the word and doctrine.

    The same word that is used for honour in Romans 13:7 is also used here in this verse, once again speaking of value, esteem and dignity. I don’t believe it is wrong to give honour to a person, recognizing their labor, achievements or the influence they have had upon lives. Honoring someone is showing appreciation for the things they’ve done. However, I do believe that it is wrong to give worship to anyone else but God, and there are many Scriptures that speak of this. Could this be the sense in which you are thinking of honour?

    Perhaps you could preface your remarks by saying something like you are thankful to God for the influence this person has had in your life and then go on to tell his positive effect on you.

    I hope this helps, and thanks again for visiting my blog.

     
    • sharon

      December 17, 2012 at 7:10 am

      Great reply to Vicki!

       
      • writeathome

        January 12, 2013 at 4:06 am

        Thank you. :-)

         
  6. Vicki DeArmey

    July 17, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Yes, that is the verse I was referring to, v. 7. You clarified this particular verse in light of the whole text, which I know is always important when interpreting the Bible. I had just seen something written using “to whom honor is due and to God the honor and worship that is due to Him alone”. Maybe I was confusing this with the scripture. Thank you for responding to my question.

    You’re welcome.

     
  7. CM

    January 5, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Im very thankful for the authority in my life. My husband Pastor and the older I get the more I appreciate my biological father, he wasnt around much when I was growing up but there is something about Gods order that cannot be dismissed.
    I’m thankful for God’s authority in my life too. When we submit ourselves to authority, than we have God’s protection. Thanks for stopping by, CM. :-)

     
  8. New Denver Appliance Repair

    January 27, 2011 at 8:04 am

    What do you think about the Jesus Hates Obama Shirts?
    I would not wear one, for it’s certainly not true. Jesus loves all sinners, and we are all sinners. It’s our sins that He hates, for they separate us from Him.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

